Strawberry Twinkie Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This is so good and easy. I loved this desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Delicious! Grocery store didn't have twinkies, so I substitued Sarah Lee pound cake- really yummy. Also, totally agree with using the Supreme Strawberry Topping recipe. This dessert didn't last long around my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I replaced the twinkies with a yellow cake mix baked in a sheet pan,then after it cooled,I split it in half using dental floss, and layered the whipped topping mix,glaze and strawberries and then repeated with the other layer of cake and toppings. I had to use 2 small packages of glaze because that is all that was available at my local grocery.I use the bottom of plastic sheet cake carrier to put the cake in since I was traveling with it. Put the cake together the day you are serving it. My family loved it and ask for it every time I am bring food to family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This recipe is great!! Its one of my husband's favorite desserts! For the strawberry topping, instead of the glaze, I let a pound of strawberries with sugar on them sit in the fridge for a few hours. Then I blended them and added the rest of the strawberries to that. Came out great. Also, listening to others advice, I added more twinkies and didnt cut them in half. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
FABULOUS!!! I was really prepared to think this was gross, but it was wonderful. I am normally a "from scratch" kind of girl, but I loved this. It tastes just like a strawberry shortcake sheet cake. DEFINITELY make the strawberry supreme topping and forego the glaze; can't imagine it without the topping, and it's easy. I also used 10 Twinkies and a smaller rectangular dish. Next time I may do it trifle style with 2 layers. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
This is awesome! It's like a strawberry shortcake casserole! The only way to eat twinkies! Quick, easy, and awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Delicious and so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
A little too sweet for our taste, but twinkies did a good job of soaking up the liquid, best day it was made, next day was starting to get runny and too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I have made this several times and each time it was wonderful. The last two times I made a double recipe and layered it in a large lead crystal bowl. Not only was it beautiful it was a huge success. My 91 year old mother wanted it for her "Birthday Cake". Wonderful recipe...the only problem there are no leftovers to munch on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Winnie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jill Kincaid
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Great, but way too thin with just one layer of twinkies! I used 20 twinkies and the double decker works perfect with the the amount of topping specified in the original recipe. I also used the perfect strawberry topping recipe and think it is a much tastier option!. Ummm ummm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States