Strawberry Twinkie Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Very delicious and so easy! I substituted a yellow cake mix for the twinkies and layered it in my trifle bowl! I made my strawberry glaze myself b/c I hate that gel-like stuff in the store. Good Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honeydew~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylvester, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
This was pretty good. It is best to eat the first day. As per other reviews it gets runny and mushy after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This is so good and easy. I loved this desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Delicious! Grocery store didn't have twinkies, so I substitued Sarah Lee pound cake- really yummy. Also, totally agree with using the Supreme Strawberry Topping recipe. This dessert didn't last long around my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I replaced the twinkies with a yellow cake mix baked in a sheet pan,then after it cooled,I split it in half using dental floss, and layered the whipped topping mix,glaze and strawberries and then repeated with the other layer of cake and toppings. I had to use 2 small packages of glaze because that is all that was available at my local grocery.I use the bottom of plastic sheet cake carrier to put the cake in since I was traveling with it. Put the cake together the day you are serving it. My family loved it and ask for it every time I am bring food to family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This recipe is great!! Its one of my husband's favorite desserts! For the strawberry topping, instead of the glaze, I let a pound of strawberries with sugar on them sit in the fridge for a few hours. Then I blended them and added the rest of the strawberries to that. Came out great. Also, listening to others advice, I added more twinkies and didnt cut them in half. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
FABULOUS!!! I was really prepared to think this was gross, but it was wonderful. I am normally a "from scratch" kind of girl, but I loved this. It tastes just like a strawberry shortcake sheet cake. DEFINITELY make the strawberry supreme topping and forego the glaze; can't imagine it without the topping, and it's easy. I also used 10 Twinkies and a smaller rectangular dish. Next time I may do it trifle style with 2 layers. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
This is awesome! It's like a strawberry shortcake casserole! The only way to eat twinkies! Quick, easy, and awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Delicious and so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
A little too sweet for our taste, but twinkies did a good job of soaking up the liquid, best day it was made, next day was starting to get runny and too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States