Strawberry Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by NittanyLionLauren
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this for my family's Easter gathering. It was a hit! Everyone loved that it had the flavor of cheesecake but was much lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NittanyLionLauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Fantastic. I cut this recipe in 1/2 and it was perfect for a family of 4. I made it two days ahead of time for Easter and thought the bottom would be too soggy, but that ended up being the best part! The thickened sauce made for a great filling. I also used another users suggestion of adding almond extract and saving some of the sauce to create a pretty swirl pattern on top! Very professional looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Excellent flavor, super easy, and beautiful...cannot beat that!! I didn't have any problems with the lady fingers standing up. The cookies I bought were stuck together (about 5 cookies side by side)so I kept about 2 to 3 cookies stuck together and they stood up well along the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Very tasty. I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and cooked down a pack. of frozen straberries with cornstartch and sugar. The only issue is it was sort of cloudy, I can see why just the juice would be a prettier red. I covered the entire top with whole strawberries and glazed with melted marmalade for a shiny finish and piped whipped cream around. Super good. It would also be good in a triffle dish, just layered. Oh, also added fresh sliced strawberries in the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
So good!! I made this for my mom and took it to Pappasitos for her birthday dinner. My mom, dad and I each got a slice and the restaurant workers took the rest!! I put fresh strawberries on top and drizzled melted white chocolate over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Very good, but I thought it needed a greater proportion of lady fingers to cream filling to be balanced. I lined my pan with ladyfingers and put a middle layer of strawberries and ladyfingers as other posters suggested, but it still felt like too much "creamy" in every bite. Next time I make this I will make this a four layer dessert, with ladyfingers on the bottom and another three layers of cream and ladyfingers. Be sure to serve very cold; this dessert "melts" quickly. Good flavor and presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
INCREDIBLE!!!!!! Easy, beautiful and tasted fantastic!!!! My family inhaled this. THANK YOU!!! It has become an immediate family fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I honestly can say this is the best strawberry torte/dessert I have ever had/made, It's soooooo good that my mom wants me to make it again next week for her birthday party. I can't give this 5* because of the many changes I've made, but the recipe as is, is a great start. All that reviews inspired me, thank you! Made my own "Ladyfingers" from scratch(recipe on this site), actually spread the batter over a sheet cake pan, baked and then cut in half to make the layers. Used 1 pound of fresh strawberries: saved 4-5 sliced strawberries for decoration, and mashed/strained another 4 which I mixed with the cream cheese and whipping cream. Placed the remaining strawberries in a saucepan, added around 2TB sugar, 1/2 glass of water and simmer until the strawberries were soft. Reserved part of the liquids to soak the cake later. Added 1TB of cornstarch to the strawberries mix, stirred and removed from heat (let cool and blended the mixture). Then just layered, covering the top with the strawberries mixture. Delicious!! that's saying a lot considering I've always *hated* all those desserts that involved strawberries and whipping cream. I can't thank you enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Photo by cookiemonstar
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Holy smokes this was good!!! Not to mention incredibly easy. The submitter must use a different kind of lady fingers because the ones they sell at my local Safeway came in 3oz packages and I ended up only using 2 1/2 packs. Also, I took other reviewers advice and cooked down whole unsweetened strawberries with sugar and cornstarch and also added real strawberries into the cake layers. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonstar
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was delicious and very easy! Our friends recommended we make it again and asked for the recipe. The only problem I had was getting the lady's fingers to stand up around the side of the pan; they kept falling over like dominoes. When I lined the bottom first, it did help a bit. I think if I had purchased the shorter cookies, it would have been easier. I'll try that next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States