Strawberry Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by rockerchic821
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I also cheated and folded in store bought whipped cream. Instead of making the sauce, I melted down seedless strawberry preserves and drizzled it on the berries which were fresh, not frozen. I tweaked this a bit, by using my cheats, but OMG is this thing delicious! It's like strawberry shortcake collides with strawberry cheescake...decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Great recipe! I put the strawberries, juice and cornstarch in saucepan and cooked as directed. It was thick when it cooled. The cake is beautiful and everyone loved it and easy to make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMARTIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Made this and won top prize in our local Incredible Edibles contest in the Sweet Treats category. This pretty dessert tastes as good as it looks! I found it needs 2 tablespoons of cornstarch to prevent the topping from being too runny. Otherwise, don't change a thing! It's a winner! (I won a $300 watch with this recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I have to give this 5 stars because I made this for my husband's birthday party, and everyone said wow when they saw it, simply because it's a beautiful cake, but it became double wow when they ate it. I cut the sugar to half a cup but added a little homemade strawberry jam mid layer to enhance the strawberriness. I also made the topping with fresh strawberries and it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
So easy, yet so elegant... I made it last summer for a bbq and received so many compliments :) It's great after a heavy meal- so light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I just made this a couple of weeks ago and it was immediately gone within a matter of days, what i love about this recipe is that it doesn't leave you this sickly feeling of eating too much?because it is light but you still get the cheesy taste, unfortunately for me, i didn't have strawberries at the moment so i improvised blueberries instead,it turned out to be a new kind of blueberry cheesecake in my opinion GREAT nonetheless!:) you get to really let creativity shine in this recipe!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
So yummy! Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar Dottie's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This was oh so good. I got rave reviews. However, I only made minor changes to the recipe. 1st change is that I only used 1/2 cup of sugar. 2nd change is that I didn't get a lot of strawberry juice so I followed another user's review and cooked down the frozen strawberries and pureed them with sugar. When doing this, I learned that 1 tablespoon of cornstarch is not enough. My strawberry topping was very runny and ran all over the cake. I also couldn't get a very thick layer since that was the case. Next time I make this, I will either use more cornstarch, or perhaps some pectin, or even gelatin to make it nice and thick. I found getting the ladyfingers to stay upright very difficult so I laid the bottom with ladyfingers, and put a dab of the cream cheese mixture in a small bowl and dipped the bottoms of the ladyfingers in the mixture to act like an adhesive. That worked extremely well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was very good. And it is beautiful to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by freckles
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Lovely and easy. I will use the beauty of this recipe to inspire more desserts. I used Pepperidge Farms Milano cookies and trimmmed the bottom of the cookie to get it to stand in the springfoam pan. I will use half of the frozen cooked strawberries next time. I also used the ribbon to wrap the torte to keep everything in its place. Very beautiful and "summer-ish."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States