Strawberry Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
i made this about seven hours before it was served. everybody loved it. i think that it could have a little bit less cream cheese. I followed a review and cooked the strawberries and cornstarch then pureed it with sugar for the sauce and used fresh strawberries to decorate. the sauce was very liquidy and therefor covered the sides of the cake when we cut it, but it tasted great. next time i will add some gelatin to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Thank you, cookiemonstar. I saw your beautiful photo of how you decorated your torte, and I made mine the same and won first place in the the strawberry festival. The cake sold at auction for $150.00. This is a wonderful recipe, Star. Thanks for sharing it with us. It makes an absolutely striking presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This dessert was so light and delicious. It did not last long in my house. Every time my husband would take a slice he would tell me that he could eat the whole thing himself every day for the rest of his life! Although for a STRAWBERRY torte, I felt as if there wasn't enough strawberry, so i added a layer of strawberry preserves on top of the bottom cream layer! Definitely made a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalu1913

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This got rave reviews from everyone I served it to! People couldn't believe I made it myself and someone even told me that I should open a bakery! I made the ladyfingers from scratch (though I probably won't do that again), left the strawberries in the sauce, and added a layer of fresh strawberries both within the torte and on top. Based on other reviews, I also added a layer of ladyfingers in the middle of the torte.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe and a great do ahead dessert. Originally I gave this 4 stars because I had to deviate and use Angel Food cake. I made this again- as a substitute for traditional birthday cake- using Lady Fingers from a recipe on this site. Now... an Amazing 5 Star! Looked beautiful! My whole family loved it (none left) and said it looked like a picture from "Betty Crocker". Free up your dinner preparation time by making this dessert the day before - you will love the enhanced flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NittanyLionLauren
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this for my family's Easter gathering. It was a hit! Everyone loved that it had the flavor of cheesecake but was much lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NittanyLionLauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Fantastic. I cut this recipe in 1/2 and it was perfect for a family of 4. I made it two days ahead of time for Easter and thought the bottom would be too soggy, but that ended up being the best part! The thickened sauce made for a great filling. I also used another users suggestion of adding almond extract and saving some of the sauce to create a pretty swirl pattern on top! Very professional looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Excellent flavor, super easy, and beautiful...cannot beat that!! I didn't have any problems with the lady fingers standing up. The cookies I bought were stuck together (about 5 cookies side by side)so I kept about 2 to 3 cookies stuck together and they stood up well along the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Very tasty. I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and cooked down a pack. of frozen straberries with cornstartch and sugar. The only issue is it was sort of cloudy, I can see why just the juice would be a prettier red. I covered the entire top with whole strawberries and glazed with melted marmalade for a shiny finish and piped whipped cream around. Super good. It would also be good in a triffle dish, just layered. Oh, also added fresh sliced strawberries in the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
So good!! I made this for my mom and took it to Pappasitos for her birthday dinner. My mom, dad and I each got a slice and the restaurant workers took the rest!! I put fresh strawberries on top and drizzled melted white chocolate over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States