Strawberry Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Karma W.
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Incredible! This cake will definately impress with not only it's beautiful presentation but also with the taste, scrumptious! Used the shorter cake-like ladyfingers in the 3 oz package which I found (finally!) in the bakery dept. of grocery store. Used 2 (3 oz) packages. I did follow some advice given in the reviews and did not strain the strawberries but added whole package of frozen berries to saucepan with 1 cup sugar and then pureed in blender, returned to pan and added cornstarch mixed with water. Allowed to cool for a couple hours and it did thicken. I did add some of this to the middle layer. I allowed the cake to chill for 24 hours before removing the springform pan, and it cut and served beautifully! Will definately be making this again, Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karma W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Made this for an Easter dessert.So good! I followed another's suggestion to cook 2 lbs. fresh strawberries with a cup of sugar~ mashed down. Added 1/2 cup water with 3 Tbs. cornstarch( mixed thoroughly) to strawberry sauce. Cooked til thick. Cooled and used for topping. Very yummy with a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Easy and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Super easy and tastes just as good as it looks! I added a tsp. of Almond Extract to the cream cheese mixture and sprinkled sliced almonds on the top of mine. Yumm-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookgirl1972

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this along with some other desserts for Easter. I'm not a cheesecake fan so I didn't have any. It did get rave reviews, and there wasn't much left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great recipe! I made this for Easter and everyone wanted the recipe. A couple of notes...lady finger are really light. I bought 2 (3oz) packages of them. I can't imagine how big a 12 oz package would be! That was plenty for the crust and sides. I skipped the ladyfingers in the middle and instead added some of the strawberry sauce to the middle. I added a little sugar to my strawberry sauce and 2 tbl cornstarch but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This is a very pretty looking dessert but I would say simple strawberry shortcake is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Quite possibly the best dessert I have ever made (and I have made thousands). Creamy, fresh, light, and just the right amount of sweetness. I subbed low fat coolwhip for the whipped cream and used 8 oz of regular cream cheese and 3 oz of the reduced fat. This was in an attempt to keep the fat content down. The flavor wasn't compromised at all! Per others suggestions I cooked down the strawberries with 1/3 cup of sugar and cornstarch and then partially pureed in the blender. The result was a strawberry sauce that was awesome. I actually made a double batch of this to freeze and serve later with strawberry shortcake. I layered the lady fingers, then cc mix, then strawberry sauce, and repeated. I topped with some sliced fresh strawberries for presentation. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by T Lynn
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
What a fabulous recipe! I've been waiting to try it because it looked really hard but it wasn't at all. I finally decided to do it for easter this year. I made two of these. Used chocolate ladyfingers on one and regular on the other. I added about 4 Tbsp kahlua with the vanilla for the chocolate one and I added about 4 Tbsp of Chambord liqueur to the other one. I don't think I would use Kahlua again because it was too strong but the Chambord tasted amazing! Maybe I'd try Bailey's next time? I topped them with whole strawberries and drizzled melted chocolate over the chocolate one. Everyone raved about the presentation and the taste! The only hard part is getting the ladyfingers to stand up in the pan. It's tricky but worth it for presentation! I followed some of the other reviewers suggestions regarding the strawberry layer... put it above the second ladyfinger layer and put the strawberries in the pan with the juice & cornstarch. Next time I think I'd try a layer of sliced fresh strawberries in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I also cheated and folded in store bought whipped cream. Instead of making the sauce, I melted down seedless strawberry preserves and drizzled it on the berries which were fresh, not frozen. I tweaked this a bit, by using my cheats, but OMG is this thing delicious! It's like strawberry shortcake collides with strawberry cheescake...decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States