Strawberry Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Very good, but I thought it needed a greater proportion of lady fingers to cream filling to be balanced. I lined my pan with ladyfingers and put a middle layer of strawberries and ladyfingers as other posters suggested, but it still felt like too much "creamy" in every bite. Next time I make this I will make this a four layer dessert, with ladyfingers on the bottom and another three layers of cream and ladyfingers. Be sure to serve very cold; this dessert "melts" quickly. Good flavor and presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
INCREDIBLE!!!!!! Easy, beautiful and tasted fantastic!!!! My family inhaled this. THANK YOU!!! It has become an immediate family fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I honestly can say this is the best strawberry torte/dessert I have ever had/made, It's soooooo good that my mom wants me to make it again next week for her birthday party. I can't give this 5* because of the many changes I've made, but the recipe as is, is a great start. All that reviews inspired me, thank you! Made my own "Ladyfingers" from scratch(recipe on this site), actually spread the batter over a sheet cake pan, baked and then cut in half to make the layers. Used 1 pound of fresh strawberries: saved 4-5 sliced strawberries for decoration, and mashed/strained another 4 which I mixed with the cream cheese and whipping cream. Placed the remaining strawberries in a saucepan, added around 2TB sugar, 1/2 glass of water and simmer until the strawberries were soft. Reserved part of the liquids to soak the cake later. Added 1TB of cornstarch to the strawberries mix, stirred and removed from heat (let cool and blended the mixture). Then just layered, covering the top with the strawberries mixture. Delicious!! that's saying a lot considering I've always *hated* all those desserts that involved strawberries and whipping cream. I can't thank you enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Photo by cookiemonstar
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Holy smokes this was good!!! Not to mention incredibly easy. The submitter must use a different kind of lady fingers because the ones they sell at my local Safeway came in 3oz packages and I ended up only using 2 1/2 packs. Also, I took other reviewers advice and cooked down whole unsweetened strawberries with sugar and cornstarch and also added real strawberries into the cake layers. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonstar
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was delicious and very easy! Our friends recommended we make it again and asked for the recipe. The only problem I had was getting the lady's fingers to stand up around the side of the pan; they kept falling over like dominoes. When I lined the bottom first, it did help a bit. I think if I had purchased the shorter cookies, it would have been easier. I'll try that next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I loved this recipe!I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fable37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This is super simple and very tasty. Took it to a work "pig-out" and everyone loved it. I did add a 1/2 tpc of almond extract. Also couln't find 12 oz packages of lady fingers so had to substitute 3 oz ones and used 3 pkgs. worked out perfectly. Also used fresh berries for the top and used the frozen as the sauce. Layered some sauce in the middle and on top then covered w/fresh berries. Well worth the little time it takes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This dessert is easy, looks amazing and tastes great. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I cannot stand using frozen strawberries for garnish!!! PLEASE, do yourself a favor and garnish this with fresh strawberries. So you don't waste the frozen strawberries, cook them with the glaze and increase the cornstarch to 1 1/2 Tbs. Another reviewer mashed the strawberries before cooking, but that is not necessary. The strawberries will break apart during cooking. The result is a glaze with strawberry pieces throughout giving it texture (if you are looking for a smooth glaze, this is not for you). If you use unsweetened frozen strawberries, I suggest you add sugar to the glaze during cooking. With these modifications, this is definately a 5 star dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was so good! I only refrigerated for 2 hours because I didn't read all the other reviews that typically chilled overnight - but it was still great! I will definitely make again - it looks so professional too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I LOVE THIS RECIPE! I did make some changes as per previous reviews. I cooked down the frozen strawberries with the cornstarch for a few minutes until heated, then stirred in 1/4 cup of the total sugar measurement. I let that cool to room temp then pureed and strained the juice out, reserving the pulp. In the cream cheese mixture I added 1/2 tsp almond extract. I layered as follows: Lady Fingers (my packages were 3 oz each, I used 2 1/2 packages), cream cheese mixture, strawberry pulp, ladyfingers, cream cheese mix, strawberry sauce. Topped with leftover cream cheese mix piped onto the top. I did have strawberry sauce and cream cheese mixture leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States