Strawberry Tiramisu for Two Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
The only reason I didn't give this recipe 5 stars is because I deviated slightly from the original recipe. I used an entire quart of strawberries, instead of a pint. Also, after each layer of mascarpone mixture, I put a layer of the strawberry puree and then a layer of sliced strawberries. I finished it off as stated in the recipe with the whipped cream and sliced strawberries. For a finishing touch, I melted some semi-sweet chocolate, added a little bit if almond extract, and drizzled the warm chocolate over the tops of the dessert. Delish recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
So creamy -very good! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Second time making this. Great recipe for a summer twist on a classic dessert. Using 8 ounces of mascarpone made enough filling for 27 (instead of 18) lady fingers, creating 4 regular servings or 3 extra large servings. The strawberry puree gives it a nice sweet touch. I didn't have coffee liquor on hand, so substituted with rum instead. I remembered the alcohol was a little light for my taste the first time, so I added a little extra liquor this time around. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This is one of my favorite desserts! I made it for the first time on Valentine's Day...and several times after. The only change I made was making enough espresso to allow me to dip each ladyfinger until they're all covered, instead of spooning it on. I've also made it without the strawberry puree and it's just as good! no bake and very refreshing! it serves 4-6 nice size portions! yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Excellent and romantic - but makes enough for four people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Wow! This is sinful. We very much enjoyed this recipe, but found it just short of what we thought tiramisu might be (even with the strawberry modification).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This dessert was HUGE!!! To eat it in two serves my husband & I would have needed to starve for a week. (I didn't even bother about the puree to serve it on!) It yielded us six serves...Possibly because I couldn't find Ladyfingers in Australia, so I used what is customary for tirimasu - sponge fingers. Perhaps they're larger? I also would prefer next time to dip the bisscuits into the coffee, not spoon the mixture over, as the coverage was not even. Nice, but defintiely not my favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I made this for Valentine's Day dinner as suggested by the Allrecipes Newsletter. Even though the recipe can be hard to follow, I enjoyed it very much. The flavor was amazing and the presentation alone looks beautiful. There may be a problem with the number of strawberries called for in the puree, but still having enough remaining for the layering / garnish. I recommend setting aside 5 or 6 strawberries to use in the layering / garnish and using the rest for the puree. I highly recommend this recipe and look forward to making it for guests in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Thought this was so so. I couldn't get my husband or his brother to eat it. I had worked so hard making it that I ate it by myself. (well... not the whole thing!) I like the classic tiramisu much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
The result is very good but only if you make an adjustment. The recipe calls for one pint of strawberries then has you puree 2 cups (the whole pint)and still have strawberries left over to put between layers. Instead, puree one cup of strawberries and use the remaining cup to put between layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States