Strawberry Tapioca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I made this recipe as directed, except I added 2tsp of coconut sugar and let it chill completely before eating. It really is a good recipe! If you are looking at the negative reviews, just remember ~ this is not a traditional tapioca pudding! This is light and fruity and fresh. Perfect when strawberries are in season, I actually made this because I went strawberry picking yesterday and came home with 16lbs of strawberries so I am making strawberry EVERYTHING today! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peanut's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
need over ripe fruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I think this is best when strawberries are in season...getting that natural sweetness from it. I made an ice drink from this by pre-cooking small colored pearl tapioca (asian store) then cooled; slightly crushed ice first in the blender then crushed with the strawberries leaving some bits and pieces, then mixed in the cooled tapioca and added a bit of water. I had to add splenda also because my strawberries wasn't ripe enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I've never come across a bad recipe on allrecipes, till I came across this one. Flavorless and looks/tastes/texture are unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is a non-sweet version of tapioca - no sugar added. It is not creamy like the vanilla, milk and sugar kind. Still it is good and it's something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
What a poor little recipe . . . .this is not the "normal" vanilla tapioca, which calls for milk, eggs, sugar, vanilla . . .this is sort of like tapioca jello or a tapioca fruit pie minus the fruit pieces and sugar. I used defrosted frozen strawberries (what I had) and the liquid from the strawberries for the water. When I tried this right after making it while it was still hot, I wasn't thrilled--a little too tart. However, let it cool in the fridge and the sweetness of the strawberries will come through. I topped it with chocolate chips thinking that would help, but I should've swirled them through while hot--it's a little too much to eat the tapioca and chomp on the chips. Still, that's my addition that didn't work as the textures are too different. Don't be afraid to try this, but don't expect traditional tapioca, and don't be afraid to experiment. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Every recipe is subject to the cook's opinion. I did some tweaking myself, and found it satisfactory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This should be called DIABETIC STRAWBERRY TAPIOCA because it is made with no sugar or substitutes. If you have any sense, you know that you have to use the very sweet strawberries, not the sour early season ones! Also, since it is not made with milk, eggs, sugar, vanilla, this is not going to taste anything like what you are used to with tapioca pudding. This dessert is made to taste totally different from your ordinary tapioca and it does it's job VERY well. Whenever I make a recipe the first time, I make it exactly the way the submitter suggests. Then if I am going to change it any, I do so on the second or third run. The next time I make this, I will make a few changes: I will mix half milk and half water, I will also sprinkle sugar on it or add a tbsp of honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
No taste. Adding sugar helped a bit but I still wont make this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
if you add some sugar, it makes it taste less like strawberry jam. nothing like the familiarity of vanilla tapioca though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States