Strawberry Swirl Cheesecake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
If you're in the mood for real cheesecake don't make these. These were pretty good, but definitely not like the real deal (I love making homemade cheesecakes). I would suggest these to anyone who wants a cheesecake type dessert but doesn't want to put forth any real effort. They're pretty good with a chocolate graham cracker crust and raspberries instead of the strawberries too (if using chocolate graham crackers, omit the lemon juice). Double the butter for the crust and add about 1/4 cup of brown sugar if you don't want it to crumble too easily. Just understand this will make the crust sweeter and the lemon flavor might pop a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Lokerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
it was delicious, but the graham on the bottom was very crumbly the first time i tried it. the sencond time i tried it, i used brownie mixture as a substitute to the graham and it was absolutely wonderful! it was very rich and creamy and overall delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaCatherine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kew Gardens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
These are good - nothing wrong with them, but hardly anything special about them either. It's just an average (what I call 3-stars) cheesecake bar with swirls. I didn't want lemon competing with the strawberry flavor so I cut the lemon juice back to maybe just about 1-1/2 tablespoons and I was pleased with just the hint of lemon that lent. I had frozen strawberries that I cooked and thickened with sugar, cornstarch and a little water, then pressed through a wire sieve - didn't bother with the blender. But I don't think this basic, ordinary cheesecake bar was worth the extra effort of making the strawberry sauce. Regular ol' strawberry jam would have worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I doubled the recipe and used regular graham crumbs since i had a box. Some reviews said not sweet enough so i cut back lemon juice and added a pinch more sugar into the crust. Served the next day; everyone loved these at the party but I made bars mainly for ease of serving, I prefer a thick dense cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
very good and easy! I used blueberries and added 1 tsp lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This turned out REALLY good! It's picture perfect and it tastes as good as it looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These were fantastic. I served them at a party and everyone was impressed. I would double the recipe though, they were a bit thin and sunk in the middle but overall, incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIARC1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Exceptional! We made the cheesecake with frozen raspberries and as a cake in a 10" round springform pan (rather than as bars). Really excellent and easy to make. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This was delicious and simple to make. It is definitely better cold, so chill thoroughly before serving. I was missing two ingredients: cinnamon graham crackers and frozen strawberries. I used regular graham crackers, but added a sprinkle of sugar and cinnamon to them which worked fine. I had fresh strawberries, so I pureed them and added 1/4 cup sugar and a splash of water, then cooked them with the cornstarch. My bars weren't as pretty as the picture - my berries stayed foamy - but they tasted wonderful. I will make these again - I'd like to try them with the frozen berries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I used blueberries instead of strawberries because I had some in the freezer. Like everyone else says, this is not very good right after being baked. It is nice the next day but not sweet enough. Very rich. I used some of the leftover blueberry puree to put over the top which made it a bit nicer. I'm not sure if I would make this again. Also I had to bake it much longer than is suggested until it was set properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States