Strawberry Swirl Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cake_craving
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I did really like this cake. It tasted pretty good and the recipe was rather simple. The video definitely helped, as some of the instructions confused me a bit. (The video wasn't complete on this site so I searched for it on the kraftsfood site) I wasn't crazy about the strawberry flavor, but it was fine with the white cake and frosting (which was also good). Also, the mostly-strawberry side of the pans didn't rise as much as the plain white cake mix. Maybe I should have mixed them more, but was scared I'd lose the marble effect. The cake tasted better the next day, after having been refrigerated. Would definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This was a very simple cake to make and it is very good. I made it and took it to work and it lasted about 10 minutes. It is very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I had already made this cake from the reicpe in my free Kraft cook magazine. My whole family loved it and wants me to make it for every special occasion. It is very easy to make and one of the best cakes I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I made this for a family gathering and it got rave reviews! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect! Delish!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This cake was absolutley wonderful. My family loves it, they request it often.It does work best though if you dont put half white cake mix and half the strawberry mix side by side in the cake pan and swirl. It works best if you put white cake mix in and put dots of the strawberry and then swirl it with a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bmorgan79
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
all i can say is WOW!! i made this cake for my mothers birthday and every bit of it got eaten, and they were wanting more! i do not eat cake and really liked this one. this is the first time in the history of a family get together that all of the cake had been eaten!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Littldot
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I made this for my niece's 1st birthday. Everyone loved it, and the icing was different, but excellent. Taste was reminiscent of a cream cheese frosting. I agree though, swirling a cake is easier if your pour the white in, then dot the strawberry around it, then swirl with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardisty, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I can't give this 5 stars because I didn't use the frosting reocommended here. The cake itself was Super YUMMY! and very moist. I used a whipped cream/ cream cheese frosting and fresh strawberries and it was heavenly. plus, the perfect pink for my daughters birthday. So much better than straberry cake mix. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
My family loves this cake! I got the recipe from a co-worker and made it for my husband's birthday last year. He now wants me to make it for his birthday every year! I use raspberries and raspberry jello instead of strawberries, and it's delicious. The frosting is a big hit because my husband doesn't like things that are too sweet, and the sour cream makes it just right. It is very important to grease/flour the pan very well, because the jello parts stick to the pan if there's not enough!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I made this for a senior citizen dinner and they loved it. Some of them even asked for the recipe. The only difference I did was that I made it in a 13x9 pan so I only put the strawberries on top. It helped to watch the video from Kraft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States