Strawberry Swirl Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This cake was okay, I wasn't overly impressed, but I did like the icing. I just didn't find it that moist for some reason. Otherwise it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOMMYTWINS
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Wow! This was deelish'!! YUMMY!! Made it the first time today just as the drections stated ...EXCEPT I made one boo-boo! Thats when I made the white cake mix (as directed) and neglected to see it called for 3 egg "whites"! Oopsie! So I was able to spoon out the 1 egg yolk but couldnt with the other two. Still, it turned out wonderful! Hubby & kids loved it. Cut some for my neighbor who then called right after wanting recipe as well as my daughter who had also stopped by to try it. I wont be as afraid to use "more" of the icing on the first cake layer next time as well as using even more strawberries--I guess I was afraid I'd run out but it really was just purrrfect already!:) When you divide the batters (pink & reg.) dont swirl too much or it will all turn pink...I was proud I did great the first try! If I had another white cake mix right now I'd make another tomorrow..its just about gone already! Definitely a keeper and one I will be sure to make for many other occasions:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is the best!! My husband has NEVER baked a cake in his life and made this for my birthday! It was a huge success and he was so proud of himself. We all loved it so much I made it again for HIS birthday which is 10 days later!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mstexas63
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I made this cake for my daughter birthday and she loved it. Her girlfriend want me to make her one now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstexas63

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MJ
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I LOVE this cake, and it has become one of the main desserts I make for many different occasions! It is so moist and as long as you don't overdo it on the strawberry gelatin, is a great balance between the white cake and strawberry flavors. I have found the more strawberries in the center, the better to give it that real strawberry flavor. I am going to try this next time also with pureed frozen strawberries instead of the gelatin to see if it gives it a more authentic flavor. This is a favorite of anyone I make it for - in fact, I have been asked to make 3 of them for Valentine's Day! ~ MJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! I had it at a girls weekend and everyone raved about it. I'm serving it at my next family get-together for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beechwooddamner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I made this for my daughter's birthday. There was not a crumb left. The best cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I made this cake for my dad's birthday and it was AMAZING. He really liked that the topping was smooth and rich, even though he was very nervous that I put sour cream in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
it was a very simple recipe. the frosting was great ,better than just having whip cream on top. I would suggest letting it refrigarate overnite then serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forrest City, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
The "strawberry" area of the cake tasted like Cap'n Crunch cereal. Our "strawberry" area sagged and sunk into the round pans and became pretty dense. The edges that overflowed got extremely hard but the white section stayed pretty puffed up. It's hard to tell that there's even a design/swirl in the cake. The frosting doesn't even taste that much different than the original Cool Whip from the container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States