Strawberry Swirl Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by cowardle
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I made this cake twice. The first time it was an unmitigated disaster because I didn’t flour AND grease the pans (I only used grease). That step is critical because the strawberry gelatin makes the cake really sticky. I had one half of the cake fall out and the other half stay in the pan. Second round everything went better however, the strawberry halves of the cake still needed to be coaxed out with some gentle prodding from a knife. Patience was the key! In the end a very delicious, pretty n’ pink cake was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowardle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I made this for a birthday party and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhomecookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
GREAT CAKE! And super easy! Everyone at our Memorial Day Party loved it. I got a Betty Crocker white cake mix and did as others suggested by putting in the white and then dolloping the strawberry on top, running the end of a knife through it. I will put more strawberries in the middle next time though. The frosting was ok, not something I'd eat by itself (which most frostings I would, lol) I might put less sour cream next time. Try it! You'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britnieann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hanceville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I made this yesterday and while it was very good I only give it 4 stars and here's why: 1. The strawberry taste was a bit artificial, would love to experiment with something a little more natural like blended strawberries with some sugar/glaze. 2. I swirled the white & pink batter using the drop method vs side by side therefore I'd only use about 1/4-1/3 of the white mixture to make pink, definatley not half. 3. My cake sat in my fridge frosted and covered overnight, but was a bit dry when it was served. Not as moist as I would have liked it but maybe it was due to it sitting overnight. Will need to experiment with additions for less dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Awesome! It was a hit at my family reunion. For someone that doesn't bake, I sure fooled everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Very good and EASY! This is a good basic recipe that could be used with really any fruit combination, i.e. raspberry would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I've been making this cake for years. You can also use a pudding/Cool-Whip topping by using 1 small box vanilla pudding, one container Cool Whip, one cup milk and a little vanilla. Just wisk together the pudding, milk and vanilla and fold in the Cool Whip. This is also really good using lemon jello and lemon pudding. GREAT summer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
My sister made this yesterday for Mother's Day dessert. It was delicious!!! Everyone loved it!!! It's definitely one that I will be adding to my list of favorites. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCRAPHAPPY71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
this cake is very good and lasted about 2 hours before it vanished with 3 people eationg it. theres 3 in our family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Very good cake. Super moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanette00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States