Strawberry Swirl Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Bake in 9" x 13" pan. That works great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Everyone loved it,moist,easy! Does not taste like box cake. I was hoping for leftovers,but it was ate up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was the most awful cake I've ever made. My children took one bite and wouldn't eat anymore. When I asked my husband for his honest opinion he said he wouldn't eat another piece. The biggest problem was the icing. The sour cream made the icing tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
GOOD JOB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is a wonderful cake! Although I goofed up with the jell-o swirl bit, I accidentally cooked the Jell-o first. So the pink batter was too flowy. My advice is to add the 2 cups of water for the jell-o as per the consistency of the batter. Also, put in the white batter first so that the cake doesn't stick to the pan. The frosting was delicious though I didnt necessarily think the entire tub of whipped cream was needed. I did not have strawberries so I decorated the cake with oreo bits and hersheys shavings. I think the whole chocolate-strawberry combination worked really well. The cake was just PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Used a Bundt pan to bake this, so I had to bake a little longer, but it turned out great. I was worried about the frosting having sour cream in it, but it turned out to be my favorite part of the cake. Kids loved this, husband and I thought it was just okay. I am tempted to try this with orange gelatin to try and get a creamsicle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
to be honest, i dont really like the strawberry flavor in this cake, it appears to be so flake. and i didn use the frosting as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoebe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I made this for my in-laws and they loved it! I used a Pillsbury white cake mix--the one that says it has a box of pudding in the mix. The cake came out really moist and yummy! I also used a bundt pan instead of two rounds, and then topped each slice with the whipped topping and sliced strawberries. This was a huge crowd-pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Olsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BabyMakingMachine
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I made this with my favorite yellow cake recipe (instead of the box) and it turned out wonderful. At, first I was a little worried about the frost but it tasted wonderful, a little on the thin side but it worked with this cake perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabyMakingMachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Twin Valley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This cake is AWESOME! I made mine in a sheet cake pan-(as one suggested) so I could easily serve small squares at a large function. I also cut up small chunks of strawberries and folded them into the whipped frosting before I frosted the top. It was the very first dessert to be gobbled up! DELICIOUS! I also put dots of the red cake on the top and used a butter knife to swirl - turned out so pretty! I am looking forward to trying as a layer cake and also wit raspberries. Thank you for this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States