Strawberry Spice Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I halved this recipe, and made it healtier. I used 3/4 cup sugar (instead of 1 cup), half whole wheat and half all-purpose flour (instead of all all-purpose), 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 oil (instead of all oil). Not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Very, very moist! I used more than 10 oz of frozen strawberries (fresh home-frozen strawberries) that I chopped up, and I put in a third of the oil. Still very moist and tasty. I also halved the sugar and used splenda. Kinda reminded me of carrot cake but with strawberries instead... wouldn't really consider it a "loaf," which implies bread to me. Just cake baked in a loaf pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Absolutely Wonderful!!!! Everytime I make it someone asks for the recipe. I recommend cutting up the strawberries so the loaf will hold together better! Best strawberry bread I have ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
My husband and I both loved this bread! It is moist and fruity, and a good change of pace from the run of the mill banana bread. I smushed the strawberries up with my hands before adding them as someone suggested and I think that definitely helped disperse them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Such an outstanding recipe. I have made it 4 times, each time tweaking the recipe a little more. It's equally delicious with whole wheat flour, and I add a tablespoon of vanilla. I use brown sugar instead of white, and 3/4 cup is enough (for 10 servings). I always use fresh fruit instead of frozen. In my oven, it always takes at least an hour and a half to cook, and it's a very moist bread. So far, I've made strawberry raspberry, strawberry cranberry, and strawberry kiwi versions of the recipe, and they have all turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Delicious recipe! Even my 3 year old son enjoyed it! I used 1 lb. or 1 carton of fresh strawberries from the grocery. I chopped the strawberries up in my food processor and halved the recipe for only one loaf pan. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Banana bread is not one of my husbands favorites, so trying to find some kind of loaf to include in his lunch can be challenging - of all I've tried this recipe is now the most requested by far. The only changes I made were adding vanilla and, as I found the amount of oil to be a lot, I substituted 3/4 cup of applesauce and used only 1/2 cup of the oil. I did not have issues with the bread falling apart at all - it must be because I did not use whole strawberries as suggested by other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cdfacc
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Wonderful! I did add wheat germ and flax seed, used convection heat for about 45 minutes. Also egg-replacer eggs worked great. I only did one loaf. That was my worst mistake. My picky kids wanted more! We all loved it. I'm making 2 loaves tomorrow! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdfacc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Michigan City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Great dish, loved it! Pay attention to recipe, this is a double loaf dish! Makes quite a bit of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FENNECUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States