Strawberry Spice Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Such an outstanding recipe. I have made it 4 times, each time tweaking the recipe a little more. It's equally delicious with whole wheat flour, and I add a tablespoon of vanilla. I use brown sugar instead of white, and 3/4 cup is enough (for 10 servings). I always use fresh fruit instead of frozen. In my oven, it always takes at least an hour and a half to cook, and it's a very moist bread. So far, I've made strawberry raspberry, strawberry cranberry, and strawberry kiwi versions of the recipe, and they have all turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
My husband and I both loved this bread! It is moist and fruity, and a good change of pace from the run of the mill banana bread. I smushed the strawberries up with my hands before adding them as someone suggested and I think that definitely helped disperse them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Absolutely Wonderful!!!! Everytime I make it someone asks for the recipe. I recommend cutting up the strawberries so the loaf will hold together better! Best strawberry bread I have ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I halved this recipe, and made it healtier. I used 3/4 cup sugar (instead of 1 cup), half whole wheat and half all-purpose flour (instead of all all-purpose), 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 oil (instead of all oil). Not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I cut this in half. I had three different kinds of berries (blueberries, strawberries and cranberries) in little amounts so I combined them all to make 10 oz. together. I had to add about 1/4 c. of milk to get it to come together. EDITED: This does not half well. At least for me it didn't. I will try this again when I can make the whole batch. Halving it was just a waste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I love this bread. I always have strawberrys around the house for the kids and this is a great breakfast bread!! I coat my pans with a little sugar before pouring the mixture in the prepared pan and when it comes out in makes a little crust on top of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLINMARCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2002
I made this recipe for a few friends, and I loved it. Some of them didn't like it . . . probably because they couldn't figure out what fruit it was. I personally loved it and will definitely make it again! It has a nice subtle flavor, and it was nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
Smells and tastes great. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Had leftover strawberries from making jam today. Read the reviewes about this and decided to go ahead and double the receipe. So glad I did. My guys and I loved it. Moist and tasty!!! Will make this every time I have strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
! mine baked for over 2 hours and STILL came out like jello in the middle. i dont know if i should have omitted the strawberry juices or if there just wasnt enough flour. this smelled wonderful baking, but i was so very disappointed in the outcome. i will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italiana8501

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States