Strawberry Spice Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I love this bread. I always have strawberrys around the house for the kids and this is a great breakfast bread!! I coat my pans with a little sugar before pouring the mixture in the prepared pan and when it comes out in makes a little crust on top of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLINMARCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I can't believe I'm giving such a low rating, but this was really bad. The only thing I did in addition to following the recipe exactly as written was add 1 Tbs vanilla and mashed the strawberries to help disperse (both based on review suggestions). After cooking for over 2 hours! the bread still was so moist it didn't taste done. YIf I made it again, I'd use less strawberries, but I'm not sure that would do it. The flavor was subtle and different from banana bread (what the other reviews were comparing it to), but it wasn't great. I could find a better use for my frozen strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I cut this in half. I had three different kinds of berries (blueberries, strawberries and cranberries) in little amounts so I combined them all to make 10 oz. together. I had to add about 1/4 c. of milk to get it to come together. EDITED: This does not half well. At least for me it didn't. I will try this again when I can make the whole batch. Halving it was just a waste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This recipe was easy to make, and turned out moist and SO flavorful. Family and friends raved!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I'm eating this now, right out of the oven! It's delicious, perfectly sweet, and moist. I followed the suggestions of another poster and used 1 cup oil, 1 cup sugar and 1 cup of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I made muffins with this recipe and used applesauce instead of oil as I often do when baking. Unfortunately, the muffins were gooey and had much too strong a nutmeg flavor for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I didn't think this recipe had much taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I made one loaf and a dozen muffins. My husband, who generally is not a fan of sweet breads, loved it, and so did my grandchildren. The only change I made was to add a splash of vanilla (didn't measure) and a cup of chopped pecans. I'm going to try it with pears next time. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I make a lot of breads, and this one is one of the best!!! After initially making it as written (I don't believe in changing a recipe until after the first time I make it), I used 1/2 white and 1/3 brown sugar. The difference is subtle but gives a deeper flavor. Also, I used about 2c. fresh strawberries, sugared them a tad and let them juice overnight before adding them to the batter. Lastly, I subbed 1/2 cup of applesauce for the total amount of oil. Got one 9" x 5" loaf and three minis. Best to take to work and treat the co-workers! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. I was expecting a loaf consistency (firm, dense, moist), but instead this was more cake-like. It was very moist, however. I used fresh strawberries, and eyeballed the amount (I'm sure that I used more than I was supposed to). For me, the recipe made 4 loaves, not 2. It was a nice way to use up some extra strawberries, but I don't think that I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States