Strawberry Spice Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
! mine baked for over 2 hours and STILL came out like jello in the middle. i dont know if i should have omitted the strawberry juices or if there just wasnt enough flour. this smelled wonderful baking, but i was so very disappointed in the outcome. i will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italiana8501
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I love this bread. I always have strawberrys around the house for the kids and this is a great breakfast bread!! I coat my pans with a little sugar before pouring the mixture in the prepared pan and when it comes out in makes a little crust on top of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLINMARCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I can't believe I'm giving such a low rating, but this was really bad. The only thing I did in addition to following the recipe exactly as written was add 1 Tbs vanilla and mashed the strawberries to help disperse (both based on review suggestions). After cooking for over 2 hours! the bread still was so moist it didn't taste done. YIf I made it again, I'd use less strawberries, but I'm not sure that would do it. The flavor was subtle and different from banana bread (what the other reviews were comparing it to), but it wasn't great. I could find a better use for my frozen strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I cut this in half. I had three different kinds of berries (blueberries, strawberries and cranberries) in little amounts so I combined them all to make 10 oz. together. I had to add about 1/4 c. of milk to get it to come together. EDITED: This does not half well. At least for me it didn't. I will try this again when I can make the whole batch. Halving it was just a waste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This recipe was easy to make, and turned out moist and SO flavorful. Family and friends raved!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I'm eating this now, right out of the oven! It's delicious, perfectly sweet, and moist. I followed the suggestions of another poster and used 1 cup oil, 1 cup sugar and 1 cup of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I made muffins with this recipe and used applesauce instead of oil as I often do when baking. Unfortunately, the muffins were gooey and had much too strong a nutmeg flavor for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I didn't think this recipe had much taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I made one loaf and a dozen muffins. My husband, who generally is not a fan of sweet breads, loved it, and so did my grandchildren. The only change I made was to add a splash of vanilla (didn't measure) and a cup of chopped pecans. I'm going to try it with pears next time. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I make a lot of breads, and this one is one of the best!!! After initially making it as written (I don't believe in changing a recipe until after the first time I make it), I used 1/2 white and 1/3 brown sugar. The difference is subtle but gives a deeper flavor. Also, I used about 2c. fresh strawberries, sugared them a tad and let them juice overnight before adding them to the batter. Lastly, I subbed 1/2 cup of applesauce for the total amount of oil. Got one 9" x 5" loaf and three minis. Best to take to work and treat the co-workers! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States