Strawberry Spice Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nancy Anne
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Twenty-two years ago I typed out a recipe for strawberry bread that I never used. Today I had 16 ounces of fresh strawberries I feared wouldn't last much longer. I decided it was finally time to give the recipe a whirl. (What can I say? I'm not the fastest draw in the land.) When I mixed it up it looked too heavy to me AND my twenty-two-year-old recipe mentioned mixing in cinnamon, which was not listed in the ingredients. Fortunately, I came across this recipe. It's exactly the same, except the recipe I was using called for 3 eggs, versus 4 here. Since I had already mixed my bread, I thought it too late to add another egg, so left that alone. Not only did this recipe tell me how much cinnamon to use and that the consistency of what I had mixed was right, but from the comments I was able to deduce that I needed to add a bit (1/3 C) of applesauce to make up for the fact that my fresh berries weren't as juicy as thawed frozen would be, and that 1 teaspoon of vanilla was also in order. By the end of my venture 22 years in the making, I turned out 4 beautiful mini-loaves (45 minute bake time) that my teens were just loving when they came home from school! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Turned out great as written. I had to measure my strawberries out, so it might have been a different amount, but turned out great! The whole family loved it. I was worried about the extra liquid from the unfrozen strawberries, but it turned out just fine. I also added less sugar than called for, but I'm sure it would have been great with the full amount too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Millin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I used some applesauce to offset some of the oil. Very moist and delicious! The color of my cake, however, was much different than the picture (mine was more purple/grey) - not quite as appetizing to the eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Great! I will definitely make this again. Used applesauce to replace oil and soy flour to replace eggs. I used 1 package of frozen strawberries because it's all I had. Tuned out great! Will try again with other berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Had leftover strawberries from making jam today. Read the reviewes about this and decided to go ahead and double the receipe. So glad I did. My guys and I loved it. Moist and tasty!!! Will make this every time I have strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Fantastic recipe!!!! I only baked one loaf so halved all the ingredients. I put a lot less sugar, had a few fresh strawberries which were a bit "tired" and used those instead of frozen and I added walnut!!!! It's been out of the oven 2 minutes and I had 2 slices already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
LOVE it. Was so easy to make and it tastes so good. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Have made the Strawberry Loaf 6 times now & feel that I can now review it. It's a great recipe. I have always halved the ingredients to only make one loaf. I've only ever used fresh strawberries cut up small. The only change other than using frozen fruit is - I use 1/2 cup veg oil & 1/3 cup milk to reduce the oil needed. My kids love a change from the usual banana loaf I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I wasn't sure about the combination of spices and strawberries, but this was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
this bread was really really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States