Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was an amazing recipe. I followed it perfectly. I did however make my own Whipped Cream. 2 tbs sugar and 1cup heavy whipping cream beat until stiff is better then anything from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Littleton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
The cake isn't too sweet; enhancing and absorbing the sweetness of the strawberries just like it should. I didn't modify the recipe at all. I think a lot of people are expecting cake and not shortcake. I LOVED IT! It was a trip to memories at my aunts house...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Ulloa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
The texture was very good but not sweet at all. With good cake and strawberries you should not need to put sugar on the berries. I did add the vanila and cinnamon as suggested and it helped some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Absolutely lovely! The shortcake.. with the recommended ammendments is absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie Shillingford Trew

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Not bad at all, but indeed reduce the baking powder a bit. To all those who wrote 1-star reviews, complaining about this not being a "pound" or other plain white cake -- take note: It is not supposed to be. Shortcake is a very specific type of batter, which is much more like a scone or biscuit. It is supposed to be that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Excellent! I loved the way the shortcake turned out; not so dry, allowing it to absorb the juice from the strawberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Our family loved this! I was pressed for time for a family pool party and wanted something refreshing and easy. There were many deserts and mine went first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nbkxa7x

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I love this recipe because it is easy to make with the kiddos! ( a little messy tho!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess-s_mommy
Home Town: Hartville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
To be honest, after fallowing the recipe to the teeth, and baked the cake-i go in for the taste... Lets just say, had I eaten it, i would probably be in the ER right now,,Too salty, too much baking soda, it smelled like pure egg and baking soda, completly unetable. I had been looking forward to this all day, and what a dissapointment... Deffinetly never again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States