Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These were just okay- a little dry. Maybe its the egg or too much flour, I don't know. I made individual biscuits and made sure I did not overbake (15 min.) 400 degrees. There are other shortcake recipes I have liked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
this is a very awesomke recipe, it was a total hit for my family, love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Very delicious! I added a pinch of cinnamon to add a little more flavor. I loved the way it came out biscuit-like. I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
It's good, but no better than what you can make with Bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was an amazing recipe. I followed it perfectly. I did however make my own Whipped Cream. 2 tbs sugar and 1cup heavy whipping cream beat until stiff is better then anything from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Littleton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
The cake isn't too sweet; enhancing and absorbing the sweetness of the strawberries just like it should. I didn't modify the recipe at all. I think a lot of people are expecting cake and not shortcake. I LOVED IT! It was a trip to memories at my aunts house...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Ulloa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
The texture was very good but not sweet at all. With good cake and strawberries you should not need to put sugar on the berries. I did add the vanila and cinnamon as suggested and it helped some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Absolutely lovely! The shortcake.. with the recommended ammendments is absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie Shillingford Trew

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Not bad at all, but indeed reduce the baking powder a bit. To all those who wrote 1-star reviews, complaining about this not being a "pound" or other plain white cake -- take note: It is not supposed to be. Shortcake is a very specific type of batter, which is much more like a scone or biscuit. It is supposed to be that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States