Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
havent tryed it yet but looks good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
It was easy to make and my guests loved it. I thought it had a bit of a bitter taste, but I was told that is what it was supposed to taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Tasteless, dense and heavy...I could go on!More like a bland scone than an actual cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Oh my. This recipe is dangerous, especially if it's only you and one other person in the house. I got a deal on strawberries so I was trying to find ways to use them up. Came across this recipe and now there's no turning back! Was worried that it may not keep very well because I had already added the strawberries and wasn't sure if it would get it too soggy but it was even better the next day! The shortbread infused with the syrup-y strawberries was exquisite! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Everything was good and edible. But I am looking for the cake part to be a little bit softer and sweeter. I also, want the cake part to be more neater. Meaning, not like a cutting a cake in half to make layers. Usually, recipes you get are not edible. But this tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I LOVED this recipe and believe that it deserves high commendation! :) It is really simple and super tasty - my family LOVES it and I love to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Critter_Annie
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
we made 2 layers, the first we followed the recipe to a T and used an electric mixer (not that we really used it that much) It turned out good, but slightly dense and not sweet enough. On the second layer/try we doubled the sugar and halved the baking powder as well as hand mixed it. It turned out much better! We had everyone taste test and everyone agreed. I also baked it with a second cake pan filled with water below it to keep it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Critter_Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I made an organic version, and used butter instead of shortening in the shortcake. The shortcake was very moist, not dry like the other reviewer mentioned, and had a sweet buttery quality. I love this recipe, and will use it often!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Perfect! This was exactly the kind of short cake that I was looking for! Its not like the sponge cake that you would buy pre-made @ the store to use but more of a crumbly biscuit type. I altered nothing from the original recipe and found it plenty sweet and tasty. More sugar imo would have been overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Some people may say that the shortcake isn't sweet enough. But you know, with the strawberries and whipped cream, it's pretty darn good! It's cool because you can have it plain and have it as a scone with butter and jam or something for breakfast. Either way, it's DELICIOUS! But I thought the batter was a little dry, so add a little milk. Just a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States