Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Absolutely loved this! Replaced shortening with butter (Earth Balance) and only used 2 tsp baking powder and it turned out perfect! Also used only brown sugar to sweeten strawberries and cake. This cake was gone in a matter of minutes :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I made this last night and it is excellent. After reading the reviews, I adjusted the baking powder to 3 tsp and added a bit more shortening plus a dash of vanilla. And while I used 2/3 cup of whole milk, I also added an additional 1/4 cup of cream for added richness. I baked this in a 7X7 square pan for 25 min. The result was a puffed, golden brown shortcake with a rich, slightly sweet flavor. The texture was a poundcake/biscuit hybrid - the perfect base for strawberry shortcake. The shortcake is so good I'm going to have it toasted with butter and a cup of coffee in just a few minutes. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
After readingbthe reviews, I also went ahead and added a bit more shortenning, I did keep with the 4 tsp on baking powder and it was perfect, our baking powder "Magic Powder" doesn't contain aliminum. I had in my freezer frozen sliced strawberries, so I used them. This recipe is realy good, it's not too sweet, and just perfect for a nice summertime dessert. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I tried the recipe yesterday, since we are only 2, an older couple and need to watch our starch and sugar intake, I cut the recipe in half for all the ingredients except the egg, since the dough was slightly wet, I added a touch of flour as I turned it into a ball. The secret is in not overworking the dough, very little kneading, shaped it in a rectangular shape and cut 6 pieces. Baked in 400 degrees oven and basted with a bit of butter on top. It turned out flaky and very light, absolutely delicious, the best I've had so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I will use this recipe evermore. I used Smart Balance margarine as the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sparafucile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
What a great recipe! Made a couple of changes: Instead of shortbread, we used mashed potatoes. Instead of strawberries, we used some braised lamb shanks with a delicious gravy. We added a layer of creamed spinach and some boiled carrots, and baked the whole thing together for about 45 minutes. Everyone agreed that this was the best strawberry shortcake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This recipe tasted amazing! Everyone loved it the only thing was that when i put the whip cream on a few mins later it started to melt like all whip cream does. So the cake was amazing but a bit messy must be quicker next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalina Mahir
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
My daughter and me tried making this recipe. It is really nice. We enjoyed making this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalina Mahir
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I decreased the baking powder to 3 teaspoons and added 1/4 c sugar - I wouldn't do that again. The sugar from the strawberries and the whipping cream plus the cake - made it too sweet. The "cake" was sort of crunchy on the outside and very moist on the inside. I used butter instead of shortening. I would make this again. Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anza, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Glazed Doughnut Strawberry Shortcake

Split glazed doughnut layered with sweet strawberries and freshly whipped cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States