Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
It turned out like a biscuit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Litegal1
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
With the exception of (as others mentioned) a terribly strong baking powder taste (and I only used 3 tsp), these were fantastic. Next time, scale bp down to 2 tsp or use alum free stuff. I had no problem whatsoever with excessive crumbing - mine were pretty much perfect. I used mini 4" cake pans (with a little over 90g dough in each pan) for 12 minutes. Came out with 6 lovely cakes. Which we devoured. Thanks so much for recipe! Oh - note to self: these really are just like biscuits (would make a nice basic recipe). If making again, either add a tad more sugar and/or sprinkle some sugar on top before baking. If I want to. Because they really were just fine as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by GeeDeth
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Great blueprint for strawberry shortcake! I used a gluten free flour and sub'd shortening with coconut oil. Also added about 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract. Wonderful texture and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeeDeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Reedsport, Oregon, USA
Photo by queenb
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Made this with all the same ingredients and measurements, despite all the alterations I saw in the reviews, but to combat the dryness of the cake, I divided the batch of strawberries in half, mashed one half so that it would be juicier, and used this to cover the bottom layer. Then I used the other un-mashed half of the strawberries for the top half of the cake. I didn't want to mash that part so as not to ruin the look of the cake. It came out great! Giving it four stars though because I think the instructions for this recipe could be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenb
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I really liked making this recipe! It was quick and easy and by far the prettiest looking cake i've ever made. My advice is that you should cut the crusts off the baked cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
The cakes were tough and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Best I have had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Strawberry season here, near Plant City Florida. I love shortcake made with old fashioned shortcake (basically a biscuit with extra sugar added). I increased the shortening and added more sugar. I could eat the dough raw! Did my own thing with the berries (I boil some in sugar and use about triple the amount boiled strawberries fresh with confectioners and balsamic vinegar. I prefer to make the shortcake with cold butter but am out of it. I do not feel the recipe is perfect due to needing more fat and sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Withbull

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Way too much Baking powder! I should have read the reviews before making it.....use 2 tsp- not 4 tsp!! Also- add 1 tablespoon of vanilla :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I "second" luv2cook's review! I cut dough into 8 pieces and rolled and shaped into biscuits with the confectioner sugar and they are fabulous! Am I the only one to top my strawberry shortcakes with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Glazed Doughnut Strawberry Shortcake

Split glazed doughnut layered with sweet strawberries and freshly whipped cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States