Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I will use this recipe evermore. I used Smart Balance margarine as the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sparafucile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
What a great recipe! Made a couple of changes: Instead of shortbread, we used mashed potatoes. Instead of strawberries, we used some braised lamb shanks with a delicious gravy. We added a layer of creamed spinach and some boiled carrots, and baked the whole thing together for about 45 minutes. Everyone agreed that this was the best strawberry shortcake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This recipe tasted amazing! Everyone loved it the only thing was that when i put the whip cream on a few mins later it started to melt like all whip cream does. So the cake was amazing but a bit messy must be quicker next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalina Mahir
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
My daughter and me tried making this recipe. It is really nice. We enjoyed making this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalina Mahir
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I decreased the baking powder to 3 teaspoons and added 1/4 c sugar - I wouldn't do that again. The sugar from the strawberries and the whipping cream plus the cake - made it too sweet. The "cake" was sort of crunchy on the outside and very moist on the inside. I used butter instead of shortening. I would make this again. Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anza, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bakesie
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
We didn't like this at all. Way to dry and taste like a cross between cardboard, nothing and baking powder. Turned out like shortbread, nothing "cake" about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This recipe turned out perfectly when made exactly as the recipe stated. A big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I didn't change the recipe at all and it came out quite good but a bit hard and crumbly like I've heard from other reviews. Next time I will alternate the recipe to what others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States