Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I HAD TO MAKE IT 2 TIMES TO MAKE SURE I DIDN'T MISS SOMETHING AND MESS UP THE RECIPE...I JUST DIDN'T THINK IT HAD ANY FLAVOR !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Sooooo yummy! this was my first time baking a cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Fantastic recipe ! Jus like my mother used to make before the days of the packaged mix. The shortcake is sweet and tender. I did follow some suggestions with baking powder,sugar, and additional shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Fantastic biscuit-style shortcake. This was a huge hit with the whole family. I made it exactly according to the recipe, except that I used unsalted butter instead of shortening. It was delicious - no baking powder taste, and quite sweet enough with the berries and whipped cream. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I made this after reading the hints/tips from other commenters. I was really looking for the "cake" part of the strawberry shortcake to go with my frozen strawberries, ice cream and cool whip. This recipe looked good and it was. While I don't know exactly what the original would have been like, I decided to take the advice of others to decrease the amount of baking powder (2 tsp instead of 4 tsp) and I doubled the sugar in the cake/biscuit part. I made individual biscuits in a 9x9 pan, baked for 15 minutes. After they cooled for 5 minutes I layered half the biscuit, frozen sweetened strawberries, cool whip, vanilla ice cream, and strawberries. I had forgotten to add the other half biscuit so I broke it up and put it around the side of the bowl. These were delicious. I worry about how they would have tasted with the original recipe so I only gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This is wonderful! I prefer butter and used it instead of shortening and added baking sugar crystals to the top the last 5 minutes of baking...mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This is a nice biscuit-like shortcake recipe. That is how I prefer my shortcake, but the previous recipe I had used took 1 c of butter - which is a bit much for me. So, I used 1/2 c butter instead of the shortening (I don't usually add fats; in fact I generally cut back on what a recipe says but this is biscuits.) I used 3 T demera sugar instead of the white sugar - I think demera adds a nice crunch. I also added about 3/4 tsp cream of tartar - I think it really enhances the flavor of the biscuit. My baking powder is rumford - so no tinny taste - so I used the full 4 tsp. I finished mixing by kneading a couple strokes on floured surface, then patted the dough out and cut circles with a biscuit cutter. Baked for 10 at 425. I do not sugar my strawberries, but I do add some to my cream, although we ate these with icecream instead. They were perfect! Dense and soft and flaky! I will be using this as my strawberry shortcake recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Personally I do not care for biscuit type shortcake but my husband loved it. I sprayed mini buntcake pan and sprinkled with sugar, rolled small logs to just fit the the bottom of the pans. They rose slightly and looked great as individual shortcakes. The family love them for my husbands birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Made this recipe for some Bunco girls and they all came back for seconds . . . need I say more!!! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Wade

Displaying results 91-100 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States