Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
The texture was very good but not sweet at all. With good cake and strawberries you should not need to put sugar on the berries. I did add the vanila and cinnamon as suggested and it helped some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Absolutely lovely! The shortcake.. with the recommended ammendments is absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie Shillingford Trew

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Not bad at all, but indeed reduce the baking powder a bit. To all those who wrote 1-star reviews, complaining about this not being a "pound" or other plain white cake -- take note: It is not supposed to be. Shortcake is a very specific type of batter, which is much more like a scone or biscuit. It is supposed to be that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Excellent! I loved the way the shortcake turned out; not so dry, allowing it to absorb the juice from the strawberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Our family loved this! I was pressed for time for a family pool party and wanted something refreshing and easy. There were many deserts and mine went first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nbkxa7x

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I love this recipe because it is easy to make with the kiddos! ( a little messy tho!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess-s_mommy
Home Town: Hartville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
To be honest, after fallowing the recipe to the teeth, and baked the cake-i go in for the taste... Lets just say, had I eaten it, i would probably be in the ER right now,,Too salty, too much baking soda, it smelled like pure egg and baking soda, completly unetable. I had been looking forward to this all day, and what a dissapointment... Deffinetly never again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I liked the texture and flavor of the shortcake. I stuck with the shortening, but only used 2tsp. of baking powder and increased the sugar to 1/4c. as others suggested. I divided the dough into 8 mini shortcakes instead of 1 big one. Next time I will cram them into a 9" cake pan so they can rise against each other and the sides of the pan. Hopefully that will give them a little more loft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I made this strawberry shortcake with a 7-year-old and it turned out beautifully. He was able to do everything by himself (of course with a little bit of direction from me) and the shortcake turned out beautifully! There was a lot of great homestyle flavor in the shortcake itself, then the strawberries just added the summer tang. Great recipe, especially for making with kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison.allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Glazed Doughnut Strawberry Shortcake

Split glazed doughnut layered with sweet strawberries and freshly whipped cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States