Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I really liked making this recipe! It was quick and easy and by far the prettiest looking cake i've ever made. My advice is that you should cut the crusts off the baked cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
All the reviewers can't be wrong, but I was quite disappointed in this recipe. I did bake the cake in muffin-top muffin tins to make individual cakes and that worked out fine. However, the cakes were tough and flavorless. Ruined my dessert tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Best I have had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Strawberry season here, near Plant City Florida. I love shortcake made with old fashioned shortcake (basically a biscuit with extra sugar added). I increased the shortening and added more sugar. I could eat the dough raw! Did my own thing with the berries (I boil some in sugar and use about triple the amount boiled strawberries fresh with confectioners and balsamic vinegar. I prefer to make the shortcake with cold butter but am out of it. I do not feel the recipe is perfect due to needing more fat and sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Withbull

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I was searching for a good strawberry shortcake recipe. Unfortunately this isn't it. I followed the advice of some reviews and changed it, did 1/2 cup butter, 2 tsp baking powder, and 1/4 cup sugar instead of 2 tbsp white sugar. Well it definatley came out biscuity, and hard, it reminded me of a frisbee as I was taking it out of the cake pan. And the cake tasted way too bland, my boyfriend even commented, it needs more sugar. More sugar?! The recipe only called for 2 tablespoons. I really am searching for more of a sponge cake like recipe, something my grandpa used to make and unfortunatley she passed well before I was eager to learn how to bake, so I missed out. And my mother never did strawberry shortcake the way my grandma did so....oh well, still on the hunt for a great shortcake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Way too much Baking powder! I should have read the reviews before making it.....use 2 tsp- not 4 tsp!! Also- add 1 tablespoon of vanilla :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I "second" luv2cook's review! I cut dough into 8 pieces and rolled and shaped into biscuits with the confectioner sugar and they are fabulous! Am I the only one to top my strawberry shortcakes with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Absolutely loved this! Replaced shortening with butter (Earth Balance) and only used 2 tsp baking powder and it turned out perfect! Also used only brown sugar to sweeten strawberries and cake. This cake was gone in a matter of minutes :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I made this last night and it is excellent. After reading the reviews, I adjusted the baking powder to 3 tsp and added a bit more shortening plus a dash of vanilla. And while I used 2/3 cup of whole milk, I also added an additional 1/4 cup of cream for added richness. I baked this in a 7X7 square pan for 25 min. The result was a puffed, golden brown shortcake with a rich, slightly sweet flavor. The texture was a poundcake/biscuit hybrid - the perfect base for strawberry shortcake. The shortcake is so good I'm going to have it toasted with butter and a cup of coffee in just a few minutes. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
After readingbthe reviews, I also went ahead and added a bit more shortenning, I did keep with the 4 tsp on baking powder and it was perfect, our baking powder "Magic Powder" doesn't contain aliminum. I had in my freezer frozen sliced strawberries, so I used them. This recipe is realy good, it's not too sweet, and just perfect for a nice summertime dessert. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States