Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2000
This was also my first time making a Strawberry shortcake, and my family and I enjoyed it. It was very easy and GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
This recipe was so easy to make. I have made it several times now and will NEVER EVER make another shortcake recipe other than this one. This is the real old fashion recipe like Grandma used to make. I added about 1 more Tab. of shortening,(used butter flavor crisco) to make it a tad bit richer, either way it is perfect. Very tender and rich. As another member stated--this is not like the pound cake,or angel food cake the store will try to tell you is shortcake. Just try it once, you will see the difference between "just shortcake" and SHORTCAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
I made it for my son's birthday and everyone loved it. I had to make 2 cakes though because the first one fell apart when I tried to cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
For those of you who are having a problem with the baking powder taste it is probably because you are using baking powders that contain aluminum. Baking powders that don't contain aluminum sulfate in the ingredient list usually don't have that after taste. Rumford is the only major brand that I know of that doesn't contain aluminum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1065 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
If you are looking for the sponge cake, angel food cake, or pound cake knock-offs to strawberry shortcake, this recipe is NOT for you! If, however, you are looking for a delicious version of a traditional shortcake, don't pass this up! Unbelievably easy to put together (I did use only 3 tsp of baking powder as suggested) and received rave reviews from all my coworkers. My boss even said it was just like the shortbread his mother used to make for him as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
Awesome!!!!! Use heavy cream to make the whipping cream...not the store bought..it will be much better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2000
I have made this recipe for my family's birthdays.It is easy to make and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
I added a little bit mor sugar and then topped it with melted margarine and sprinkled with sugar before baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
This was excellent! I didn't have any shortening so I used butter instead and made about 8 small shortcakes instead of 1 large one. They were delicious, no baking powder taste at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
this recipe was fabulous! i was a little nervous after reading the reviews to make it, but i'm glad i did. it is not your light cake that most people think of. i followed the recipe exactly. there was no baking powder flavor. USE your strawberry liquid on the cake when you cut it in half. FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States