Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
For those of you who are having a problem with the baking powder taste it is probably because you are using baking powders that contain aluminum. Baking powders that don't contain aluminum sulfate in the ingredient list usually don't have that after taste. Rumford is the only major brand that I know of that doesn't contain aluminum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1090 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I also changed the recipe as others - reduced the baking powder to 2 tsps.- changed the shortening to butter and increased it to 1/2 cup - increased the sugar to 1/4 cup and added 1 tsp. vanilla extract. I also used half&half milk for a richer taste. This recipe is the old-fashioned version of short cake. It has a taste very much like scones. I hope these suggestions help others - put all your dry ingredients in a bowl and use a whisk to blend the ingredients. Have your butter at room temperature. I used a wired pastry blender to mix - the texture will be "fine" & feathery - not coarse. Make a well and add your wet ingredients and combine just until they come together. As with any biscuit recipe you don't want to over work it or your dough gets tough. I "floured" my hands with confectioner sugar and separated my dough into 8 equal mounds -then rolled each mound in the powdered sugar and fashioned into a biscuit. I allowed an inch around each biscuit as they will get larger as they bake. This recipe will make 8 "catshead" (large) biscuits. For the BEST whip cream - use heavy (or whipping) cream - to 2 cups heavy cream add 1 tsp. vanilla ext. and during the whipping add 1/2 cup powdered sugar. I made 55 shortcakes for a ladies lunch - Big Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
977 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Do reduce the baking powder to 2 tsp. This is a dry shortcake, but I think many of the people who were disappointed in it expected a sponge-cake-like shortcake, instead of the biscuit variety. These are supposed to be dryer, and get their moisture from the strawberry juice and whipped cream served with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
385 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This was AMAZING!! I did deviate somewhat from the recipe though. I took the advice of some other reviews and used 1/4 c. sugar in the batter, used 1/2 c butter instead of the shortening, added vanilla to the batter, and used 2 1/2 tsp instead of 4 tsp of baking powder. Instead of a whole cake, I made individual sized cakes (like big biscuits) and baked them on a greased/floured baking sheet for 12-13 minutes. I even sprinkled each of the mini cakes with a cinnamon & sugar mixture! We then prepared them as the recipes says! Such a hit and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Out of this world! I made this for my wife's birthday and it was a huge hit. I cut the baking power to 2 tsp like other folks, and upped the shortening to 1/2 cup, as I wasn't getting the "course crumbs". A local farm makes and sells terrific shortcake bicuits when their strawberries come out in June. This cake is exactly like those biscuits and I can have them anytime! I had no problem with crumbling, maybe because of the increased shortening. As for folks substituting butter and adding vanilla, try it according to the recipe first. The problem I've found with many "shortcakes" is that they try to be center of taste and just end up overpowering the finsihed product. Also, I have no 8" pie pans, but I do have an 8" spring-form pan. Worked out great. This is a keeper! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamison, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Anyone who is the slighest bit interested in eating shortcake, had better eat this CAKE!!! It was almost as if heaven itself entered my mouth upon every single bite. Not to exaggerate, but Denyse is either a Goddess, or this recipe was personally hand delivered to her front door step by Hermes himself. If it were possible to give this recipe a 47 out of 5 star review, believe me, I would have jumped at the chance. Please let me know if there are any other recipe's on here by Denyse because frankly....I would live in her kitchen and never leave if I knew her. I believe I speak for everyone with functioning taste buds when I say 3 Cheers Denyse!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Best ever Strawberry shortcake Recipe!!! I used 2T instead of 4T of baking powder, 1/4cup sugar instead of just 2 spoons of sugar, and a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I still can't make it uncrumbly but this is still good. I prefer this over some imitation overly sweetened version. The texture is thick and dense against the sweet soft strawberries and whip cream. It's perfect. If someone was use to the imitation version or not use to the biscuit style that would explain the "anything but 5 star rating". You have to bake this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Excellent! I made mine in muffin top tins for individual shortcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This is very delicious! The cake is like a sweet biscuit, but that's how old fashioned is! It's got such a "soft" taste - not overpowering! I will be making this over and over and over. My brother, son and husband loved it!! And it's pretty easy too! I did add about 3 tbs of sugar and 2 tsp of vanilla to the whipped cream when it was just about fully whipped. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bianca
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I used an angel food cake instead to make it easier. I also mixed sweetened condensed milk with the whip cream to make it thicker. This is a great recipe and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Glazed Doughnut Strawberry Shortcake

Split glazed doughnut layered with sweet strawberries and freshly whipped cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States