Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
followed the advice of 2tsp baking powder and 1/4t salt. Used butter rather than shortening and cut it all in with my Cuisinart dough blade. It was simple and amazing. Fresh whipped cream is a MUST, made with vanilla bean and powdered sugar. PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Made this recipe as is. It's a staple in my home, especially now during strawberry season. When I tell people I'm making/bringing strawberry shortcake, they are often expecting sponge or angelfood cake, so I'm on a little mission to educate people on what SHORTCAKE really is. Nothing like it and everyone always raves about how yummy this shortcake is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Very good. Although, I did make a few adjustments to suit my own taste. I sifted all my dry ingredients together, used a combination of buttermilk and reg milk, only 2tsp of baking powder, 1/4 cup of sugar, 1 stick of butter and 1 tsp of vanilla. Would this be considered a new recipe...lol. It came out very good. I was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkii

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Delish and easy! I didnt know how to whip the cream into whip cream, but of course looked it up on this site. Very easy whipped with vanilla and confectionary sugar. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rainy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
The fresh whipping cream makes this dish. Do not substitute with cool whip : ) Veronica Carlton Anthem Az
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Made 6 large individual shortcakes with this recipe. Tastes just like what I grew up with when mom used Bisquick! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was beautiful to present and tasted amazing. I like to try the recipe as directed before making any changes, and in this case that was a good choice. I made the recipe exactly as written and it turned out perfect! I had a gorgeous biscuity shortcake that was excellent with the whipped cream and strawberries. 2 notes: 1) Some reviewers added more shortening when their mixture didn't really resemble course crumbs. It's true, there isn't really enough shortening for the whole thing to be very crumby - it almost just mixes in, and there are just really fine crumbs. But that's okay, it turns out great. 2) After cutting the cake in half, I spread whipped cream between the halves and put 2 layers of sliced strawberries on top, and then added the top half. I piled some strawberries on the top and put a huge dollop of whipped cream on top of that. Then I spread the rest of the strawberries all around the edges of the plate around the cake, so they encircled the cake. It was really showy, but this is actually a fairly easy dessert to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I made this for a friend's birthday, and it turned out pretty good. l just wish the cake was a little sweeter. But other than that, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Didn't have any baking mix, so I decided on this recipe instead of my normal, easy shortcake recipe. Glad I did! Just as easy and yummy! I didn't follow the directions for layering. Just baked and cut up; then poured sweetened strawberries all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Extremely tasty, but the cake kept falling apart on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States