Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
A hint dry, but flavorful and with good texture, even when the cake was cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allan Klingler

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I followed the luv to cook version and doubled the recipe. the first pan came out beautiful but once I had handled the dough for the second pan my body heat had started to melt the butter and the batte became very sticky. this pan spread out too much. I think I will throw it in the refrigerator for 10 -15 minutes next time before I bake it. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
A great result overall, but a bit of tweaking was needed. 1) reduce the baking powder to 3 teaspoons (some other reviews suggest reducing to 2), 2) I would definitely recommend making this at least 12 hours ahead or even the previous day. The strawberry juice and moisture from the whipped cream soak into the shortcake and it is improved, IMHO, at least ten fold! For the impatient, not bad, but to my taste, a bit too dry. 3) personal taste again, but this recipe produces a pretty skimpy shortcake for 9. I would increase the amounts by 1/2 4) I added the grated rind of one lemon for a hint of zip. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This was great - I made mine with 1/2 strawberries and 1/2 blackberries which was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
VERY moist and delicious shortcake, not dry and bland like many others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Prutty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkskull1013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kincardine, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
havent tryed it yet but looks good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
It was easy to make and my guests loved it. I thought it had a bit of a bitter taste, but I was told that is what it was supposed to taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Tasteless, dense and heavy...I could go on!More like a bland scone than an actual cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Oh my. This recipe is dangerous, especially if it's only you and one other person in the house. I got a deal on strawberries so I was trying to find ways to use them up. Came across this recipe and now there's no turning back! Was worried that it may not keep very well because I had already added the strawberries and wasn't sure if it would get it too soggy but it was even better the next day! The shortbread infused with the syrup-y strawberries was exquisite! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States