Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This recipe is great!! I was so nervous because not only was I making it without prior testing, I made it for a group of family members, but serious critics :-) The cake isn't sweet when cooked but I'm told it's not supposed to be. It was a hit; nearly everyone came back for second or thirds!! I followed some of the changes other commenters suggested and assembled each serving using one layer with a few teaspoons of strawberry juice drizzled over a cake square before adding strawberries and whipped cream. Sorry no pictures (for right now), they rushed into the kitchen before I was done assembling them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Really easy to make and came out great. I used almond milk since i dont do dairy. Will try the suggested modifications next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
These were amazing! I followed directions exactly for the shortcake, and they came out great! I did, however, put the dough into ramekins for smaller (individual) portion sizes. I thought it would take less time in the oven because of their size, but they still took 20 minutes. At 15 mins, they (the larger ones) were still gooey in the center. The recipe made 2 large ramekins and 2 small ones. I only made enough strawberries for one serving (myself), I didnt measure the sugar but I eyeballed it to my liking, and I added a dab of vanilla, and used a potato masher to lightly squeeze the juices from the strawberries. It sat for the duration of the baking time, and all in all it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This was excellent. It's a true shortcake, I chose to cut individual slices and split them for serving and this worked very well. I used butter flavored shortening and cut the baking powder to 3 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by thelittlecook
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Good recipe. I added an extra tablespoon of sugar, and next time I think I'll even add another (so there are 4 tbsps altogether). Also, I'd add about a tsp of vanilla next time. Overall, pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Maybe I should have baked this just a bit longer because it was a bit gluey but it was good. I did reduce the baking powder because it did have that metallic taste. Not the best but not the worst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I just made these, following the advice of previous reviews. They are perfect! I had to try one before our dinner guests arrive. I improvised with 1/2 cup room temp. butter instead of shortening, reduced to 2 tsp baking powder, increased to 1/4 cup sugar in batter (left all rest the same). I sprinkled each with a mixture of sugar/cinnamon before baking and they are delicious, flaky and don't taste "doughy" or like baking powder. Baked at 425 for 20 minutes on parchment paper. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Fantastic recipe, I did however substitute the shortening with butter (~1 1/2 cu.). Also almost halved the baking powder. Then baked it at a lower temp (around 400). Needless to say it came out amazing. I hesitated to use more butter, didn't need Paula showing up to my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
A hint dry, but flavorful and with good texture, even when the cake was cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allan Klingler

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I followed the luv to cook version and doubled the recipe. the first pan came out beautiful but once I had handled the dough for the second pan my body heat had started to melt the butter and the batte became very sticky. this pan spread out too much. I think I will throw it in the refrigerator for 10 -15 minutes next time before I bake it. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States