Strawberry Shortcake Ice Pops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Surprizingly good--I really was taken aback. I followed the recipe exact, only using sugar free cheesecake pudding and fat free evaporated milk. This recipe was just right for what I had on hand and I was able to use my small food processor for both crushing the cookies and making strawberry puree. I used little dixie cups for these pops and once they'd gotten firm, I just stuck popsicles sticks in the little cups. This way, you could just peel down the cup "wrapper" and go to town. Great change on your usual frozen pop recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I followed this recipe as written and using whole milk. They were pretty good, but both my daughter and I thought the cookie cheesecake part was super sweet and clashed somewhat with the strawberry part, giving the strawberries a bitter tang. Maybe adding more sugar to the strawberries would help that, or possibly swirling the mixture thoroughly before pouring, instead of layering. I would have polled the boys on what they thought, but they were out the door like a shot with them and I never heard any complaints later! So, we'll give this recipe a solid 4 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
These were really good! I used sugar free pudding, because that was the only cheesecake flavor I could find. I thought it was perfect :) cant wait to make again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
These are the best pops! I made them in my Zoku Quick Pop Maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
These were amazing! They only lasted two days in the freezer before we gobbled them up. The only change I made in the recipe was to add a dash of kosher salt to the pudding and cookie crumb mixture to balance the sweetness, and I did use sugar-free pudding mix and fat-free milk. The pops are sort of reminiscent of the strawberry shortcake pops you can buy at the store, but the texture is very different and the strawberry flavor is more intense. This recipe made eight standard pops for me. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sicily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Recipe submitter here! I'm glad the reviewers so far like the popsicles :) One little change is that I don't blend the cookies until they're fine crumbs, coarse crumbs are good. Allrecipes changed the directions a bit when they published it. I think it's nice to have some little hunks of cookie in the popsicles though so don't worry if your blender doesn't do the best job of completely pulverizing the cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
kids loved them. I wonder if you can use yogurt instead of the pudding mix? I will try it and let you all know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Love, love, love this recipe. Next time I will try with vanilla pudding as my oldest daughter does not like cheesecake. Only trouble I had (and always have) is getting them removed from the molds. I am definitely going to try the Dixie cup idea next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These are delicious! Used the sugar free cheesecake jello b/c that's all I could find, and whole milk. I hand crushed the cookies in a sandwich bag, the chunks were delicious when frozen. I did not understand the other reviews saying it was too sweet; in fact, I think I should have done a quick re-blend of the strawberry mixture before filling the molds because I thought the strawberry mixture could have been a little sweeter! Perhaps the sugar fell to the bottom of the blender. I digress - this was awesome, a must make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoopDoc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Wow, this stuff is good NOT frozen also! (I ate the extra that didnt fit in the molds.) I added a bit of coconut into the pudding mixture, and sugar free cheesecake pudding mix. What a great way to cheat your diet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

A gorgeous and simple frozen strawberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States