Strawberry Shake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
We thought this tasted more like a smoothie than a shake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I would have to agree with CC that I prefer to use all fresh fruit in my shakes and smoothies (and I would actually call this one a smoothie), but my kids wanted a strawberry smoothie and we didn't have any strawberries. This recipe is great just for that reason, and my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This recipe was not to my liking. I could tell by the ingredients that this was not a "shake" but a smoothie. Although, I wanted something healthier so I decided to try it. However, this strangely had no taste except maybe melted plain yogurt. Although, it has nothing to do with my rating, the calorie count is also way off. There was also easily 2 servings. The only change I made was subbing strawberry sauce for strawberry jam. That should have mainly affected the thickness only. I might try to dr. this up tommorrow, somehow to give it some much needed flavor besides yogurt, with some additional frozen fruit, honey, or another sweetener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by LeeLee
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I love how versatile this recipe is when it comes to fresh strawberries or preserves and fresh or frozen bananas. Makes a very delicious treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Normally, I would not pick a recipe that uses jam over fresh berries, but it just so happened that I had some less than stellar tasting strawberries to use up, so this recipe was perfect. I just used less jam than called for and tossed in the berries. I also used a frozen banana instead of ice cubes as ice waters a smoothie down. The only thing this needs is vanilla yogurt instead of plain, for best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Wonderful shake - easy to make and perfect for a sweet treat! I used vanilla yogurt and like others, I froze my banana so there was no need to add any ice. This was really refreshing and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I tripled this recipe but only used a half cup of jam. I used my own freezer jam and frozen bananas which eliminated the need for ice cubes. This was good, but I think I like it better with frozen or fresh berries. It was good in the way that we're broke and have to use on hand ingredients for our smoothie fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Good. Great way to use up some preserves and bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
It's good. Next time I will add frozen strawberries with the preserves. I tasted more banana than the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was so good and really easy. I used vanilla yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waianae, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States