Strawberry Schaum Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ROBINBRADY
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This was delicious and the meringue will be the base of other desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
My family really looks forward to having this once a year after we pick fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I've got to be honest, I was expecting a bit more than I got...loved the exterior - dry crispy meringue, but very different texture inside...I think I like pavlova and it's texture much more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This is a lovely, classic dessert, one that used to be a dessert staple in Wisconsin supper clubs years ago. I made individual meringue shells, piped with a star tip onto parchment - 275 degrees, about an hour, then left them in the oven to completely dry out for another couple of hours. The ratio of 1/4 cup sugar for each egg white is spot on, but for the strawberries I'd recommend adding sugar to taste rather than immediately adding the full amount. I probably used only half the amount called for. Sometimes, as I remember the restaurants doing, I'll do these individual Schaum Tortes with a scoop of vanilla ice cream as well, but on this occasion I served them with "Homemade Vanilla Pudding," recipe also from this site, as well as the strawberries. Light but satisfying, elegant and delicious, this is also ideal for dinner guests, as the shells and strawberries are easily made in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I was asked to divulge the recipe to everyone who tasted it... And some of those people don't even cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Absolutely LOVE this recipe. My Dads mom was German and that's where he got the recipe. For those who don't care for strawberry, you can use banana too! YUMM. My dad would put banana on half and strawberry on the other to give options. The banana's do get brown if not eaten somewhat soon but usually there aren't any leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This recipe brings back great memories. My German grandma lived in Hales Corners for years and I visited every summer. She would make individual meringues by spreading the egg white mixture into rounds onto greased baking sheets. After baking and cooling, she would top each with vanilla ice cream, strawberries, and whipped cream. Delish! The meringues are also pretty tinted pink with red food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Amazing recipe! I followed it exactly and it turned out perfect! Definitely serve with real whipped cream (only takes a couple minutes to make and is soooo worth it!) it isn't as sweet as coolwhip and compliments the torte and strawberries better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
My mother has been serving this dessert to our family since the 40's. My grandmother was German and this dessert has been served every Easter for over 50 years. I have carried on the tradition since 1989 after my mother passed away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I have been making Schaum Torte ever since my brother married a German girl in the late 1950s and she brought this recipe to our family. We always serve it now for special occasions. It is our favorite. I usually serve it when I invite new friends to dinner, as well, because nobody ever heard of it before and they all love it! The only thing my sister-in-law did differently was to peel some of the top off of the finished meringue, in big pieces, fill the shell with whipped cream, and then place the pieces on top of the whipped cream. Then after she cut each piece and placed it on a dessert plate, she took a ladle and drizzled frozen/thawed strawberries over each piece. So delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G from Cleveland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States