Strawberry-Sauced Crunchy Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
A cross between a fruit crisp and a fruit salad. Wonderful as a side dish or a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Always get rave reviews! I make a few changes, though. I do not use oranges, as they are kind of messy and unattractive when stringy. I just add a bit more orange juice to the puree, which is perfect when using frozen strawberries! I also use diced pineapples instead of crushed as they provide a little more crunch and less mush, and put the pineapple juice from the can into the puree mix, instead of just pouring it down the drain. Also, like many others, I double the crunchy topping. Whatever is left over, we use as topping for ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I love this recipe. I have added or substituted mango, peaches, and grapes. I've found I can increase the fruit considerably and still have plenty of sauce. I mix the strawberry sauce in but serve the crunchy topping on the side. I used pecans instead of hazelnuts. Next time I'm going to reduce the butter to 1/3 cup when I make the crunchy part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This was ok. Too many apples. I will definitely make it again, but with peaches and other fruits instead of the apples. The strawberry glaze and the crunch are delicious. The oranges in the salad were my favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Recipe is better if everything is not blended together before serving.If you can't find vanilla sugar, take granulated sugar and add vanilla beans to it. Let it sit for awhile, until the vanilla flavor is absorbed by the sugar. It takes some planning ahead to make it like this because it will take awhile for the sugar to absorb that vanilla flavoring. I know of people who make it this way: take granulated sugar and mix with vanilla extract (the real stuff, please!). That can be used right away. You don't want to use too much of the vanilla extract because you don't want soggy sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This salad was outstanding - it's one of those recipes you will make again and again - definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
We had this for dinner tonight and LOVED it! We did serve the toppings on the side, no soggines! We also couldn't find vanilla sugar so we used more confectioners sugar. THE HAZELNUTS ARE AWESOME!!! YAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GypsybvW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
This was wonderful, I can't wait to make it for a special event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBRENNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This salad is delicious! Incredible flavor. We usually serve the topping and sauce separately to avoid any sogginess. Our guests rave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Huh? I do NOT see/taste why everyone gave this 5 stars. Sure, it was a pretty good fruit salad, but 5 stars? No. I made this for a brunch and, bottom line, it just tastes like chopped up fruit mixed with that stawberry topping for ice cream (with a bit of a citrus taste because of the orange juice) with some cereal mixed in it. If I were to make it again, I'd just cut the time in half and chop the fruit up, mix it with that ready-made strawberry topping and then a cup of the cereal "Honey Bunches of Oats". To be honest, it'd taste just the same....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Applesauce31

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States