Strawberry-Sauced Crunchy Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
It was pretty good. WAY to much sauce. I only used about 1/2 of it. I also used a mixture of fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Forrence Worth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Great way to serve boring fruit! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I love this recipe!!! It make a lot of fruit salad - but I am always left with an empty bowl at parties!!! I make some variations - even though this is the exact same recipe that was given to me from my sister. My version omits the orange in the fruit mixture. I also use canned pineapple tidbits instead of the crushed pineapples - as I find it is more of the same shape as the apples. I keep the strawberry sauce the same. I changes the crunchy topping - as I did not like the nutty taste. I use homemade granola. It lasts longer and doesn't get as soggy as quickly. I have even made 1/2 of this recipe and it still makes a a lot. I like to chop up the apples before my guests come, place it in a container and sprinkle about 1/3 cup of orange juice on top of the apples - so the apples will not turn brown. I also layer mine a little differently. I use a clear trifle bowl and pour 1/2 the mixed apples on the bottom, them 1/2 the can drain pineapple tidbits, 1/2 the strawberry sauce, about 1 1/2 -2 cups granola and then layer everything again - ending with the granola on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I made this with my diabetic friend in mind, so I cut out the sugar in the sauce, just strawberries, orange juice, and a splash of vanilla. Then, I served the crunch on the side. The dressing was delicious! Just enough to make it special, but not too sweet and dessert-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I made this for a breakfast "party" at work. Everyone raved about it and being healthier was greatly appreciated. Fot the granola topping I used old fashioned rolled oats instead of cereal. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This is SO good! Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I have to say, that this isn't the most attractive dish. I mixed the sauce into the fruit to keep the apples from browning and it made it look pretty messy. It tasted better than it looked though and the topping was yummy. :) I'll make the topping again for other salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindee Greivel Myers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Yum! Delicious and not too sweet. I made this for a baby shower and it was a hit. There was nothing left and everyone was asking for more. I made a few changes. I did not use oranges but did add grapes and banana slices. Its worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comfort, Texas, USA
Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I halved this recipe and other than that, followed it to a T. I'm not sure what all the excitement is about, b/c everyone seems to like this recipe. I did not like it AT ALL. The flavors did not mix very well and the sauce was too liquidy, too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Very good, makes a ton of salad and I even halved the recipe. I didn't stick to the recipe, but added the fruits my family liked. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States