Strawberry Romaine Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
HELPFUL HINTS NOT MENTIONED: I'm really giving this 5*'s because of the dressing. It's been something I've made for almost a year now & I always have a batch ready to use. I use soy milk or lactaid because the expiration date for the milk tend to be a month away from the day I bought it which means the dressing lasts longer! I take a lock-n-lock & double the ingredients for the dressing. Mix everything but the poppy seeds (or sesame seeds) b/c they tend to just stick to the lid or bottom, so you never get the portion you want. Instead I just sprinkle it over the actual salad (any works) when I'm ready to serve, and give my lock n lock a shake before pouring over the salad! I prefer using Almond Accents found in salad section because they're already toasted, sliced, and have different flavors. Also sprinkle cranraisins or dried blueberries along with fresh strawberries. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
I was hugely disappointed after reading all the great reviews. I find the dressing extremly sweet, and I normally like things slightly sweet. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISAKP71
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
This is a very yummy salad! Two hearts of romaine and about half a 9oz. bag of spinach was just right for me. I think most of the yumminess is in the dressing - the salad itself is very simple (even simpler when I picked all the onions off my serving!). I followed reviewer suggestions to reduce the mayo to 1/3 c. and the poppy seeds to just 1 Tbsp, then used a full 3 Tbsp. of red wine vinegar. Really tasty like that, but I was serving this at a baby shower for twin girls, so I wanted a pinker hue than the vinegar alone could give. I tossed in 3-4 frozen raspberries that I happened to have on hand and shook the you-know-what out of it until they just completely dissolved! Much pinker, and even tastier. ** Added later: I just tried a little of the dressing drizzled over a bowl of leftovers from the fruit tray (cantaloupe, honeydew, red grapes & strawberries). An unusual but very yummy way to enjoy both! ** Even later: I made a quick version with just leftover spinach, sliced strawberries and the dressing. I did not miss the romaine, but even though I didn't actually eat the onions last time, I missed the hint of flavor that they added. Don't skip them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2004
Very good--even without all the required ingredients (I didn't have spinach or onion). The dressing was so much better than any store-bought one!! I used red wine vinegar instead of white, which gave the dressing a slight pinkish color, and it still tasted fine. Next time I think I will reduce the mayo (maybe 1/3 cup?) and the poppy seeds (2 T. is WAY too much--maybe 1 T.?), and increase the vinegar (3 T.). Also, I think this would taste great with toasted, candied almond slivers. Thank you Mary for a delicious new way to use strawberries! I will definitely make this again--in fact, I have some dressing left over! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHANY S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Wow, this was really good. I was a little suspect as to how strawberries would taste with romaine lettuce, but the dressing was the kicker. The flavors meshed together to well. This is a great "desert salad"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCA70111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I thought this was a great recipe, even with the changes I made so it would fit my diet. I replaced the sugar with Splenda and used fat free mayo. I also added a small amount of sliced toasted almonds. Everyone loved it. It was beautiful and colorful too. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
Fabulous recipe. I used the Brianna's Rich Poppy Seed Dressing as per one of the reviews and it was "GREAT". I also added chopped walnuts and let me tell you even my finicky salad eating husband loved this. Try this recipe and you'll be hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I just had to make this salad again, had a craving for it. I only used romaine lettuce and red onions instead of the bermuda onions minus the poppy seeds and it is still really good. The dressing is awesome. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
This has to be the best salad dressing I've ever made. I've made it twice for guest, and both times were big hits. Try making this dressing with lite dressing and Splenda for less calories. I also made the recipe with regular sugar, and I couldn't tell a difference in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
Yay! Great tasting, easy recipe! There was a little bit too much sauce, but other than that, it was grrreat! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States