Strawberry Romaine Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Awesome salad. I had to use iceberg because it was all I had and it was still really good. The combo of the strawberries and onions was a surprisingly good combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This is the best because it is simple and flexible - I made a fraction of the recipe without spinach or poppy seeds and with: + apple cider vinegar instead of white wine vinegar + almond milk instead of regular milk + small section of yellow onion instead of Bermuda onion. It still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Served this at my son's graduation party in May. This salad is really remarkable. Guests comments ranged from "refreshing," "light," and "yummy!" It was the sleeper hit of the lunch spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geezboyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Decided to give this a try even though my husband is not a big salad lover. Was is he pleasantly suprised? I would say so. My compliments to the submitter. I cut back on the sugar and did not have poppy seeds but did not deter from the taste. Definitely give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This is a surprisingly wonderful salad! I served at our Easter brunch and everyone loved it. I added chopped walnuts which really enhanced the flavor providing more crunch. It's my new summer pot luck favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
So, I saw this recipe and decided I had to try it. My husband said "EW STRAWBERRY SALAD GROSS!", but begrudgingly agreed to at least try it if I was going to go through the effort to make it. guess who decided strawberries in salads aren't a bad thing? Now, he asks for it all the time. It's surprisingly delicious, and very different from the usual garden salad. Definitely give it a shot if you're on the fence about whether or not to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yourmominavolvo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Delicious! My boyfriend asks me to make this over and over again. To save money I just used baby greens instead of the spinach and romaine. Also, I didn't have the vinegar so I used Marsala cooking wine. Slice the onions paper thin. Next time I hope to use light mayo. Didn't change ingredient quantities - everything was perfect. Look for store brand poppy seeds compared to the fancy ones to save money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This is simple and delicious. I love mayo so I used the whole amount also used the whole amount of poppy seeds. I think I may add another TB of vinegar next time. Also added slivered almonds to the salad as a toppping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I tried this salad for the first time during peak strawberry season. Is was very delicious and the dressing was so good....I'll use for other salads as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle97

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Very good salad! I used white onion instead of red because it was all I had, and it turned out fine. I cut the poppy seeds by 1/2 and it was much better. Dressing was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mawcus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States