Strawberry Romaine Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I have been making this salad for years and it's an all-time favorite & sure to please anywhere you take it...just be sure to toss right before serving. In my version of the dressing I use less poppy seeds (a little go a long way!) and I also add 1 tsp. of pure almond extract...it adds a fabulous twist to the flavor of the dressing and goes great with the strawberries. I also add candied almonds and use only romaine...no spinach...but I think a little spinach would be ok. A mayo-type dressing seems to me like it would be too "heavy" for those tender spinach leaves. This is such an excellent summertime (or anytime!) salad! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Made this tonight, but didn't have any spinach. It was still excellent (and I'm not much of a salad eater)! I also added slivered almonds. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This salad tastes great... Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Very good for me, but not a big hit at Thanksgiving party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Tastes great! I modified the dressing to make it lower calorie by using plain yogurt instead of mayo & stevia instead of sugar. Will make again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Loved this! I didn't have any Bermuda Onion so I used half of a red onion instead. This was a big hit with my family of 5! We are cutting gluten from our diet and this was a pleasant start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Razz Melinda Abrego

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This was a great salad! Everyone one loved it, even my husband who doesn't really like salads. He had 2 bowls! I made some substitutions because my daughter is allergic to diary and it was still great. I used Soy Vanilla milk and a dairy free mayonnaise from Trader Joes... Everything else was the same and I didn't use any spinach because I didn't have any in the house. Great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
The dressing is exceptionally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Dressing is amazing! Left out the poppy seeds because I didn't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Delicious salad!!! That dressing is great and can be made with reduced fat mayo and milk and still taste good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States