Strawberry Romaine Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is AWESOME! I used Red Wine vinegar instead simply because I like it better. This can easily be adapted to make it your own. Next time I make this I think I'm going to add some oranges, feta, & nuts! Maybe add some grilled chicken or steak to it also!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Simple and tasty. This is the first time I have prepared a leafy green salad w/ strawberries for the family (I know.... sad huh?) and it was amazing. Everyone enjoyed it and I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickettFence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I've made this a few times and find it to be a refreshing change from my usual more salty/zesty salads. I often use just spinach as I always have some in my fridge. I find this goes great with most dishes too. I use light mayo and add extra poppy seeds onto the salad in addition to those mixed into the dressing plus I use rice vinegar instead of the white wine vinegar as that's what I have on hand, I think it cuts some of the sweetness out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lennythenoob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Although I try not to alter recipes and then rate them, I just couldn't help myself this time. I left out the onion since my family really doesn't like raw onion very much. I reduced the poppy seeds to 1T and added a little feta cheese and toasted pecans. I could probably eat this daily and not get sick of it...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I love this salad! I used green leaf lettuce in place of the romaine. Love, love, love the dressing. So easy to throw together, and it looks so elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
UPDATE: I SENT MY NEIGHBOR HOME WITH LEFTOVERS (I SERVED THIS SALAD ALONGSIDE THE CHICKEN TORTILLA CASSEROLE WE HAD FOR DINNER) AND SHE LOVED IT. HER HUSBAND LOVED THE DRESSING AND DRIZZLED IT OVER CUT UP CELERY. IT'S A MATTER OF PREFERENCE, I GUESS. I STILL STAND TRUE TO MY INITIAL RATING BUT WANTED TO LET THE AR COMMUNITY KNOW THAT MY NEIGHBORS COULDN'T GET ENOUGH OF THIS. :) I hate to be the downer here, but this was not nearly as good as I hoped it would be. Having said this, I think the addition of toasted or candied nuts, cubed chicken or even mandarin oranges would take this over the top! As is, this was a tad too bland for my liking. The dressing was good (not WOW!), but I felt the salad itself was lacking "oomph." I also didn't care for the Romaine in this (I guess I prefer strawberries paired with spinach). Maybe this will float your boat, but I'm going to keep searching for the perfect summer salad. Thanks anyways, Mary! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Very very good salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Sensational! Makes lots of dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I took this to our family Easter celebration. It was very good! I put a little more lettuce in which seemed to tone down the sweetness of the dressing and used red onions instead of Bermuda onions. It was a refreshing change to our usual holiday food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This is a great recipe, AND it is even better if you lighten it up a bit. I use skim milk, reduced fat mayonnaise, and Splenda every time I make it, and it is awesome. I also garnish it with ¼ - ½ bag of Almond Accents Honey Roasted Sliced Almonds AND ¼ - ½ bag of Almond Accents Italian Parmesan Slides Almonds (Usually found near the bagged lettuce or in the salad dressing aisle). Thanks for the great, refreshing salad recipe! It's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States