Strawberry Romaine Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: May 23, 2004
This is a very good salad. I made it tonight with one head of romaine and just one bunch of spinach (it was a large bunch) and it made a ton. If Strawberries arent in season, diced tart apple makes a really good substitute. We like this, and its very pretty. The dressing does go a long way, so be light with it and only dress as much salad as you think you will eat right then, because it wont keep after you put it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
Very good--even without all the required ingredients (I didn't have spinach or onion). The dressing was so much better than any store-bought one!! I used red wine vinegar instead of white, which gave the dressing a slight pinkish color, and it still tasted fine. Next time I think I will reduce the mayo (maybe 1/3 cup?) and the poppy seeds (2 T. is WAY too much--maybe 1 T.?), and increase the vinegar (3 T.). Also, I think this would taste great with toasted, candied almond slivers. Thank you Mary for a delicious new way to use strawberries! I will definitely make this again--in fact, I have some dressing left over! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHANY S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
Awesome recipe!! the dressing was fabulous! I used a red onion instead and i added mandarin oranges...my company loved it and raved about it for weeks. great summer/spring salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
This salad was so delicious, I couldn't stop eating it! I didn't have any poppy seeds but the dressing turned out yummy anyway. Next time I'm going to try adding some mango slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
Really liked this; added toasted pecans for some crunchiness. I also made one batch as written but adding pink grapefruit sections and leaving out the red onion. Absolutely great -- gives guests that "wow" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Incredibly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
I received so many compliments and requests for this recipe when I served it at a summer BBQ. Love it! Such a beautiful presentation and delicious. This recipe will be a staple in this household. Thank you Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
This is one of the best salads that I have ever had! The dressing is perfect and the poppy seeds add a nice little crunch. Perfect with steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
This has to be the best salad dressing I've ever made. I've made it twice for guest, and both times were big hits. Try making this dressing with lite dressing and Splenda for less calories. I also made the recipe with regular sugar, and I couldn't tell a difference in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
Yay! Great tasting, easy recipe! There was a little bit too much sauce, but other than that, it was grrreat! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States