Strawberry Romaine Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
THE BEST! I'd never had raw spinach and frankly the thought was unappealing, but I like romaine and love strawberries so I thought I'd give this a try. WOW! This was so delicious, and I LOVED this salad. Hubby didn't like it at all, too sweet he said, plus he doesn't like fruit in his salad. That's okay I ate my portion and hubby's too! I used a 50/50 blend of romaine/baby spinach that I found at the market. I don't like onion, but added it anyway, and even though I picked the onion rings out in my bowl, they added the best flavor to this and defintely shouldn't be omitted. I used light mayo and 2% milk and this came out fine, a creamy delicious dressing. I could have cut way back on the poppy seeds though, maybe even half, but even as written it's a winner! Thanks Mary, this is a wonderful addition to my recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I have made this dressing several times since trying it a few weeks ago. It is great and very easy to throw together at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I received rave reviews on this salad and will definitely make again. I also changed the recipe by reducing the poppy seeds by half and then served with pecan halves. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I served this last night and everyone ate every bit. I took others advice and halved the sugar and poppy seeds and I didn't add onion.I served pecan chips and blue cheese on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Strange ingrediants but the end result was great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I, too, recommend adding toasted walnuts. I also omitted the Bermuda onion as I didnt have one on hand and it was fine w/o it. Wonderful - I love new salad recipes. The dressing was great; I used light mayo. Will absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
A wonderful, beautiful salad! I did add gorgonzola cheese, chopped walnuts, red onion instead of bermuda (because that is what I had), and sliced fresh mushrooms to this salad. I also think that sliced hard boiled egg would be good too! For the dressing, I used light mayo, skim milk and splenda. WOW! What a wonderful dressing! This is a new favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Great salad. Family went back for seconds. The only thing I would use a little less poppy seeds next time I make it but it was definitely a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
It was OK. I didn't care for the dressing very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
The first time I used this my boyfriend and I were pleasantly surprised; it was fantastic. I usually don't like sweets, but with this salad it's wonderful. Even my brother who is extremely picky...loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States