Strawberry Romaine Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Gorgeous salad! I served this with our Easter dinner and it was FABULOUS! Even the red onion haters were nuts for it. The dressing makes it and ties it all together. I used 1 T poppyseeds instead of 2 and a 1/4 C suger as one reviewer suggested and it was the perfect sweetness. This will surely be part of my spring summer salad rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This makes a nice light, tasty salad. Very quick to pull together. Based on other reviews I did reduce the poppy seeds to 1 T. and the sugar to 1/4 C. I also sprinkled in some dried minced onion (maybe a half T.) into the dressing rather than the fresh onions (make sure you allow time for the onions to soften though if you do this)and added blue cheese crumbles and slivered almonds. Went over well at the party. Will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This is a great salad! We actually serve this at the restaurant that I work at, except we add pecans which makes it even more delicious. Also, if you chop the onions fine enough, you can add them to the dressing (it gives them a ton more flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Lovely salad! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Very tasty, took to a baby shower and everyone wants the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This salad is SO yummy! I made it a couple of weeks ago for a get together, and I've been craving it ever since! It's pretty sweet, and it is very refreshing! I am planning to make it today for a Labor Day party I'm going to! I put the dressing on as needed so mine never got soggy. I didn't use poppy seeds because I didn't know where to find them and I used sweet Maui Onions. It was still GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISAKP71
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
This is a very yummy salad! Two hearts of romaine and about half a 9oz. bag of spinach was just right for me. I think most of the yumminess is in the dressing - the salad itself is very simple (even simpler when I picked all the onions off my serving!). I followed reviewer suggestions to reduce the mayo to 1/3 c. and the poppy seeds to just 1 Tbsp, then used a full 3 Tbsp. of red wine vinegar. Really tasty like that, but I was serving this at a baby shower for twin girls, so I wanted a pinker hue than the vinegar alone could give. I tossed in 3-4 frozen raspberries that I happened to have on hand and shook the you-know-what out of it until they just completely dissolved! Much pinker, and even tastier. ** Added later: I just tried a little of the dressing drizzled over a bowl of leftovers from the fruit tray (cantaloupe, honeydew, red grapes & strawberries). An unusual but very yummy way to enjoy both! ** Even later: I made a quick version with just leftover spinach, sliced strawberries and the dressing. I did not miss the romaine, but even though I didn't actually eat the onions last time, I missed the hint of flavor that they added. Don't skip them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Amazing flavor! A great, refreshing side dish to grilled meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I've always seen this made with just spinach, but it always wilts right away - the romaine was a great substitute and really holds up. I suggest leaving the spinach out all together, unless you're not going to have ANY leftovers. Great dressing too! I always add a little less sugar to the dressing, but that's just personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Hyde Park, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
THE BEST! I'd never had raw spinach and frankly the thought was unappealing, but I like romaine and love strawberries so I thought I'd give this a try. WOW! This was so delicious, and I LOVED this salad. Hubby didn't like it at all, too sweet he said, plus he doesn't like fruit in his salad. That's okay I ate my portion and hubby's too! I used a 50/50 blend of romaine/baby spinach that I found at the market. I don't like onion, but added it anyway, and even though I picked the onion rings out in my bowl, they added the best flavor to this and defintely shouldn't be omitted. I used light mayo and 2% milk and this came out fine, a creamy delicious dressing. I could have cut way back on the poppy seeds though, maybe even half, but even as written it's a winner! Thanks Mary, this is a wonderful addition to my recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States