Strawberry Romaine Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
The salad was a very elegant and refreshing summer salad. I omitted the spinach and poppy seeds, added toasted sesame seeds, and less milk to make it creamier. The flavor is a bit sweet, so I balanced it out with a little more white wine vinegar and some dry mustard. I minced finely 2 T of red onions and let in soak in the dressing for an hour or two and the dressing was awesome! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Too milky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Amazing salad! I used one 9 oz. bag of spinach a head of romaine, 1 red onion and 2 lbs. of strawberries. No adjustments at all to the dressing! It was very delicious, not overly sweet and just the right amount of tang to compliment all the flavors! Even the picky eaters at my party loved this! I will certainly be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
HELPFUL HINTS NOT MENTIONED: I'm really giving this 5*'s because of the dressing. It's been something I've made for almost a year now & I always have a batch ready to use. I use soy milk or lactaid because the expiration date for the milk tend to be a month away from the day I bought it which means the dressing lasts longer! I take a lock-n-lock & double the ingredients for the dressing. Mix everything but the poppy seeds (or sesame seeds) b/c they tend to just stick to the lid or bottom, so you never get the portion you want. Instead I just sprinkle it over the actual salad (any works) when I'm ready to serve, and give my lock n lock a shake before pouring over the salad! I prefer using Almond Accents found in salad section because they're already toasted, sliced, and have different flavors. Also sprinkle cranraisins or dried blueberries along with fresh strawberries. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Very good! fast and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Gorgeous salad! I served this with our Easter dinner and it was FABULOUS! Even the red onion haters were nuts for it. The dressing makes it and ties it all together. I used 1 T poppyseeds instead of 2 and a 1/4 C suger as one reviewer suggested and it was the perfect sweetness. This will surely be part of my spring summer salad rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This makes a nice light, tasty salad. Very quick to pull together. Based on other reviews I did reduce the poppy seeds to 1 T. and the sugar to 1/4 C. I also sprinkled in some dried minced onion (maybe a half T.) into the dressing rather than the fresh onions (make sure you allow time for the onions to soften though if you do this)and added blue cheese crumbles and slivered almonds. Went over well at the party. Will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This is a great salad! We actually serve this at the restaurant that I work at, except we add pecans which makes it even more delicious. Also, if you chop the onions fine enough, you can add them to the dressing (it gives them a ton more flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Lovely salad! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Very tasty, took to a baby shower and everyone wants the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States