Strawberry Ricotta Stuffed Whole Grain French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
This dish was alright. I don't like ricotta so I don't care much for this. But the girlfriend absolutely loved it. Used toothpicks to help hold the sandwiches together and used wheat bread instead of the whole grain. I think she liked it better that way. Aside from my dislike for ricotta, the flavors blend well and I don't have much to complain about. I say 3 stars, the gf says 5. We'll settle for a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I found this recipe quite good. I did as another reviewer did and cut my strawberries thin and because of that I had no problem flipping them. With the extra strawberries, I cut them up and put sugar on them and once these were finished cooking, I put the fresh strawberries on top. Quite amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyenfrance

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was very delicious with the addition of a tsp of orange zest added to the ricotta mixture. It would get 5 stars even without that though. I made this as written, using buttermilk. I had a feeling the milk/egg mixture would make too much, so started with half the amount, and it was perfect as I had just enough for the four servings. Topped with berry honey butter, syrup and whipped cream on top for a perfect Mother's Day breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
My family loved this recipe! THinks for helping me become the holiday chef with the rave reviews! I changed the strawberries to raspberries and blueberries and added cinnamon to the ricotta and sugar filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this for Christmas morning. I mixed ricotta and cream cheese with some Splenda. I made a few of them with sliced Hawaiian bread and the rest with wheat bread. I had a little bit of frozen mixed berries so I used them up. For the rest I used a low-sugar strawberry jam. We topped them with Redi-Whip and they were a hit! These can be made with almost any kind of bread and fruits. Experiment and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I made this for Sunday morning brunch for my family. It was an instant classic. We used country white bread and in addition to the strawberries, I added blueberries and fresh banana. We didn't have fresh strawberries, so I used frozen strawberries and frozen blueberries. My 7 year old said, "This is OVER THE TOP -- DELICIOUS!!!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I have made this recipe twice now and it was great both times! The first time i used sweet bread, of course not as healthy, but it was great! I made it a little healthier by using egg whites and fat-free ricotta cheese and it still was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
No ricotta, just trim cottage cheese. I let it drain using a fine strainer for about 15 minutes, pushing out some of the moisture out gently with my spatula. I used a day-old whole wheat I had on hand and chopped the strawberries VERY fine. My kids liked this, I cut the recipe in half just for them. I had a hard time keeping the filling inside the french toast. I think next time, instead of using granulated sugar, I might use powdered. It might thicken up the mixture and make it have a little sticking power.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
We thought this was good. We added freshly picked blueberries, which added some nice flavor. I am not sure how you are supposed to flip these without the insides falling out - we used toothpicks to hold the sandwiches together while cooking. Also, I think you can reduce the number of eggs for dipping - we had tons of leftover egg/milk mixture. I think you'd be fine with three instead of the recommended four. We'll make these again with some modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States