Strawberry Rhubarb Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Awesome recipe! We ate it on vanilla ice cream, but froze the leftovers. Everyone licked their bowls clean. The only change that I made was that I used 3 cups of frozen rhubarb and only 2 cups of strawberries. I had to use another two teaspoons of cornstarch, because of added water from the frozen rhubarb. This is a great recipe. Thanks, Shalaine_1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This sauce is so good that it has become a Sunday morning breakfast tradition over waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Absolutely wonderful - Great colour (w/o the added colouring) and taste... A recipe that even an old retired guy with two thumbs can manage. So glad I made an extra large pot, there "might" be enough to share! Good job and, thanks for the recipe... Dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Great recipe, easy to make. I probably added a bit more rhubarb than the recipe called for, I didn't measure. The taste was great, we served this over French toast and it was a hit at my house! I'll be making again this weekend to have with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I didn't have any cornstarch so I won't rate based on thickness. I followed the advice of several others who went with 4 cups rhubarb, 1 cup strawberries. After it was cooked, I separated it into one part more solids, and one part that was more of a liquid. It was delicious, although I felt that the orange juice was a little overpowering. I made it a second time, but added about a shot of bourbon (to die for). Still, I think next time I'll do something to reduce the orange-y taste. Regardless, it was so good over Ben & Jerry's vanilla ice cream. Looking forward to pancakes tomorrow morning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I've used this recipe, with three berry frozen fruit from Costco, several times now over a lemon pound cake. The flavors in the lemon, berries and orange juice compliment each other very nice. I'm taking it to a potluck lunch today and know it will go over very nicely. thank you for a wonderful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Loved this! I froze a few containers; will check next time to see how to can them so I can more easily give as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Delicious! I've made it twice and served it over vanilla bean ice cream. To die for! Instead of using 4 cups of strawberries & 1 cup of rhubarb, I use 4 cups of rhubarb & 1 cup of strawberries. I add just a little bit more sugar to cut down on tartness of the rhubarb. This is a great early summer treat when rhubarb is in season. My husband and kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mlsteffy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
No question this is delicious, but I still have to say I would have liked it even better without the vanilla, which I found an unnecessary distraction - and almost a "cover-up" if you will. As I do with all my strawberry-rhubarb desserts, I used equal amounts of each. In consideration of the extra rhubarb, I added just a tad more sugar to allow for its tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I didn't have orange juice, so I subbed water and added a bit of Triple Sec. Quite delicious! No need for food coloring; the strawberries give plenty of color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States