Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
The filling of the pie was delicious, but I reduced the amount of sugar and used just 1 cup instead of 1 1/2. The crust dough didn't turn out very well, it was flaky and difficult to work with, so I ended up changing it to my old recipe. But overall - boyfriend was very satisfied with the taste and texture, so I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vera_Karpova

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Great recipe! Make sure you use the dry tapioca. Add 3/4 c sugar to the fruit mix and use only 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Renea Franks Hohenstern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I'm giving this five stars for the crust! I've used this crust for several pies now, it's perfect. As for the filling, mine came out poorly because I used tapioca pudding instead of the thickener (I'm new--now I know). It came out a soupy mess, but a delicious soupy mess. I'm guessing it's a good recipe if one does it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I don't know what went wrong, but like some of the other reviews my tapioca beads never disolved and were intact after i took it out of the oven. I never have trouble baking so I'm not sure what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This pie filling is delicious. My family loved it. However, I must say I think people are either oil based pie crust lovers or shortening based pie crust lovers. My family is shortening based. They knew immediately that this was not my pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
In this pie the filling was way to sweet, I couldn't eat more than a few bites. The crust though was very good. I think that this recipe would be great if one reduces the sugar in the filling to about 4 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I thought this tasted very good. My son-in-law had cut up some rhubarb for me and put it in the freezer, so I thawed it out and the 6 cups looked like 2. I drained them and probably could have used a little more of the juice. I did slice my strawberries, but think next time will just cut them in half. The filling was not a nice thick sauce, but very thick on the pieces of filling. I believe this is because I had left out much of the juice. I also used Splenda Blend instead of sugar. Will definitely make this again, but use fresh rhubarb. Actually, I'm about to go have another piece. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Everyone who has had this pie, has said it is the best Strawberry Rhubarb Pie they have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This turned out great, don't make pies normally. But it sounded so yummy I had to try it. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Uniontown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I use this recipe all the time. The only thing is - I do cheat! I buy the ready made pie crust. But I do filling exactly according to the recipe! The whole pie is gone everytime I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States