Strawberry Rhubarb Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
This pie was DELICIOUS and so easy to make! I had never made a pie before, and one of my friends who tried it said that this was better than the Strawberry Rhubarb pie that her grandma makes! The only problem I had was overfilling my crust, which was a little messy. Also, some of the tapioca beads didn't cook all the way, making the pie a little extra crunchy! But overall, this pie was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
I searched for a while to find a great strawberry rhubarb pie recipe and this is it....it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
I found it to be too runny. I am not sure what I did or if it was the recipie but I don't think I will try it again to find out. I used the crumb topping which added more needed sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This is the worst rhubarb pie I have ever made. Way too much tapioca in filling turned the juice into a rubbery jello-like blob. I used frozen rhubarb and frozen strawberries. There was no tartness to the pie whatever. I will try a more traditional rhubarb recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Awesome. The only thing I found is that the filling was good for two pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This is a great recipie, but the one thing I would change is not adding the orange zest. I found it too overpowering of the strawberry and rhubarb flavors, but a great recipie overall. I gave some to friends and they both asked for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Quite a tasty filling. I made it with a traditional crust, however. As others have noted, this recipe will yield enough for two pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
As mentioned in another review, this pie was very sweet - but was very tasty too. I made it with the crumb topping - using half brown sugar and adding some oatmeal. It did fill 2 pre-made pie shells - and even my husband and kids liked it, and they never like fruit pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
I liked the recipe, but would make changes. I used the crumb topping, which was very good, but made the pie WAY too sweet. I would either cut back the sugar in the pie to 1 Cup, or cut the topping recipe sugar down some (perhaps I'll do both!) I didn't have any tapioca, so used 1/2 Cup flour instead. It worked fine. Other than being too sweet, the pie was delicious, and I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Recipe had way too much tapioca! It made the pie dry and jelloie like. I used the crumb crust top and didn't like that either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States