Strawberry Rhubarb Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Awesome recipe! It's a keeper. First time I made it I didn't care for the tapioca, not all of it cooked thoroughly. Followed another's advise the second time & used half the filling, cut down on the sugar & used flour instead of the tapioca & it was the best pie I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Fast easy and delicious Family- Friends & Neighbors Loved It Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I have made several pies similar to this one but this one is the BEST! I didn't change a thing. I used the double crust vs. the crumbs. It was perfect! Thank you Joan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Decent pie! The consistency of the filling is kind of like Jell-O, which I wasn't prepared for (I'd never baked with tapioca, and it definitely thickens differently than flour or cornstarch). However, I thought it worked pretty well. Great flavor, and tasted fantastic with a dollop of vanilla bean ice cream. I used a homemade double pie crust recipe from this site (I think the crumble would have been too sweet). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
The taste is wonderful. First time baking with Rhubarb so this was a fun and learning experience. The only complaint is that the amount of Tapioca called for was too much for my pie. Hubby and kids said that they loved the taste but the "jelly" was just too thick. Next time (will be soon), I will back of the tapioca some and see how that changes the consistancy a little. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I used frozen fruit and the full 6 tablespoons of tapioca. It turned out just perfect. I was a little jelloy, but firm. Some people said to use 4 or 5 tablespoons, but I was wondering if that was for fresh fruit. Next time I was thinking about draining all the juices and using less tapioca I used a deep pie crust and the filling was piled high so I put a cookie tray under the pie for the juices that over flowed when it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Oh my gosh, it's so good! Made this for an old fashioned sunday church get together and it was a smash. Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
used Mirical baking powder pie crust, split sugar 1/2 white 1/2 demara, fresh grated nutmeg, splash of vanela double crust let cool in oven with door cracked, came out great, cut nice and didn't fall apart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Great pie - I went for the crumb topping and the sweetness was perfect using 1 cup sugar in the filling and 1/2 cup mixed with the flour and butter for the topping. I added a touch of cinnamon to the topping. Make sure you use quick cooking tapioca. The quantity of filling is best suited for a deep dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
i used a 9" deep dish pie pan and had no problen with to much filling. told by some it was the best of any pie they ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JackinaJeep

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clairton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States