Strawberry Rhubarb Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2002
I liked the recipe, but would make changes. I used the crumb topping, which was very good, but made the pie WAY too sweet. I would either cut back the sugar in the pie to 1 Cup, or cut the topping recipe sugar down some (perhaps I'll do both!) I didn't have any tapioca, so used 1/2 Cup flour instead. It worked fine. Other than being too sweet, the pie was delicious, and I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
This recipe is delightful! My husband raved about this pie and he is not a fan or rhubarb. I made it with the crumb topping but used half brown sugar and half granulated sugar and about 1/3 cup of quick oats. I also used unsalted butter. Excellent pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Feura Bush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
I searched for a while to find a great strawberry rhubarb pie recipe and this is it....it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
Outstanding recipe, although I believe it should have been called a two pie recipe. I made it twice using frozen "deep dish" crusts and filled them both each time; the berry mixture even bubbled over both times too while cooking. If using freshly grated orange zest, you may wish to decrease the amout called for as it was very stong. The second time I made it, I used dried orange zest and it was perfect. With those two comments in mind, this is hands down the est strawberry rhubarb recipe I have ever made or tasted. I highly recommend the optional crumb top; it sets it apart from all other recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
This pie was DELICIOUS and so easy to make! I had never made a pie before, and one of my friends who tried it said that this was better than the Strawberry Rhubarb pie that her grandma makes! The only problem I had was overfilling my crust, which was a little messy. Also, some of the tapioca beads didn't cook all the way, making the pie a little extra crunchy! But overall, this pie was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I just took these out of the oven. I decided to double the fruit and do the crumb topping. I added less sugar to the fruit and to the topping as I prefer the sweetness of the fruit to shine thru. I also cooked them about 10 minutes longer and they still were not very brown so I upped the temp. back to 205 for 5 minutes. I also used a sourcream dough recipe from Canadian Living. As they sit right now they look runny, oh yeah I used 6 TBS. flout instead of tapioca(didn't have any)....not sure if that's why?? Can't wait to cut into one they smell horribly good;) They thickened upon cooling and yep they were horribly good. The orange zest was a good touch, also put a pinch of nutmeg in topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
This recipe is EXCELLENT! I used this recipe for my first-ever strawberry rhubarb pie, and it was a hit! It is definitely the best-tasting s-r pie I have ever tasted in my LIFE! I would say this is easy to make for someone with only a little experience in making pies. I made this with a lattice top and it looked wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This is the worst rhubarb pie I have ever made. Way too much tapioca in filling turned the juice into a rubbery jello-like blob. I used frozen rhubarb and frozen strawberries. There was no tartness to the pie whatever. I will try a more traditional rhubarb recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Quite a tasty filling. I made it with a traditional crust, however. As others have noted, this recipe will yield enough for two pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This is the best Rhubarb pie I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States