Strawberry Rhubarb Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
This pie was DELICIOUS and so easy to make! I had never made a pie before, and one of my friends who tried it said that this was better than the Strawberry Rhubarb pie that her grandma makes! The only problem I had was overfilling my crust, which was a little messy. Also, some of the tapioca beads didn't cook all the way, making the pie a little extra crunchy! But overall, this pie was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
I searched for a while to find a great strawberry rhubarb pie recipe and this is it....it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
I found it to be too runny. I am not sure what I did or if it was the recipie but I don't think I will try it again to find out. I used the crumb topping which added more needed sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This is the worst rhubarb pie I have ever made. Way too much tapioca in filling turned the juice into a rubbery jello-like blob. I used frozen rhubarb and frozen strawberries. There was no tartness to the pie whatever. I will try a more traditional rhubarb recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Awesome. The only thing I found is that the filling was good for two pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This is a great recipie, but the one thing I would change is not adding the orange zest. I found it too overpowering of the strawberry and rhubarb flavors, but a great recipie overall. I gave some to friends and they both asked for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Quite a tasty filling. I made it with a traditional crust, however. As others have noted, this recipe will yield enough for two pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
As mentioned in another review, this pie was very sweet - but was very tasty too. I made it with the crumb topping - using half brown sugar and adding some oatmeal. It did fill 2 pre-made pie shells - and even my husband and kids liked it, and they never like fruit pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
I liked the recipe, but would make changes. I used the crumb topping, which was very good, but made the pie WAY too sweet. I would either cut back the sugar in the pie to 1 Cup, or cut the topping recipe sugar down some (perhaps I'll do both!) I didn't have any tapioca, so used 1/2 Cup flour instead. It worked fine. Other than being too sweet, the pie was delicious, and I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Recipe had way too much tapioca! It made the pie dry and jelloie like. I used the crumb crust top and didn't like that either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States