Strawberry-Rhubarb Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by debblee
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I made 50 servings / 3 pint jars since it was my first time canning. I added 2 dashes of cinnamon and a dash of cloves and reduced the sugar by 25% (because we like a little tartness & spice) This was SO easy & SO delicious! going to make a second full batch soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debblee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I tried out this reciepe for the first time and so far so good!! I did though cut the sugar by about 25% as well because I like the tarty taste of the Ruhbarb. I would use this again. Can't wait to try it out on some pancakes or buttermilk buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This was a great recipe, for strawberry jam. The rhubarb was completely lost, you couldn't taste it at all. I was very dissapointed. And yes, I used fresh, not frozen rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KasieStrickland

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Lots of yummy jam with little effort! I was always told you shouldn't double a jam recipe, which is what this recipe seemed to be. I was glad to learn that 12+ wonderful jars of jam can come from such little effort! I used 6 pints of farm-fresh berries which I crushed, then added the diced rhubarb, lemon juice, and about 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. I used low-sugar pectin, and only used 8 cups of sugar because I like tartness, but even cutting the sugar left if very nicely sweet & tart. I would have rated it five stars, but I tweaked the recipe, and am very happy with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob's Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This is a keeper. The jam set quickly - no anxiety about whether it would be too runny. I made a batch of rhubarb buttermilk muffins and put some of this jam on it - a match made in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I gave this 4 stars because I love strawberry rhubarb jam...but this was way too sweet. Like gag me with a spoon to sweet. So if you like your jam so sweet that it gags you, this is excellent, but when I make this again, I will definitely use the low sugar pectin, and maybe 7-8 cups of sugar instead of the 10 that this recipe call for. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I am not a huge fan of rhubarb, but it is so abundant that I get gifts of it from my friends. This is quite good, sweet yet it has a little tartness too. Good on the buttermilk biscuits and pancakes I put it on. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This stuff is to die for! Perfect. Yes, strawberry freezer jam is nice and easy BUT ... THIS stuff is so much more flavorful. I will never go back to my lazy ways .... now I just have to plant lots of rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarlaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This is the best Strawberry - Rhubarb recipe I have ever made. Laura
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Webster, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was a great recipe!! I had my husband help me do all the chopping and we had a lot of fun making this together! They are going to be Christmas presents this year and turned out great!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kouts, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States